The Queen Of New Beginnings by Therese Loreskar #BlogTour @bombshellpub @loreskar

Queen cover 1.1

Book Description:

Kajsa lives in a large house in Stockholm along with her three children and their dog. Since coming clean about lying on her popular blog she no longer has any work. Not only that but she has kicked her husband out because of his sex addiction.

While her husband is in rehab trying to fix his little problem, Kajsa’s mother in law is thrown out of her retirement home and comes to live with her daughter in law.

Then Kajsa receives an unexpected offer to move to a fashionable part of London. But having to look after her mother in law makes life complicated.  

Can Kajsa rid herself of her baggage and make a fresh start with her children in England?

This laugh-out-loud comedy looks at the daily struggles we all face with our families and asks if starting again is ever really possible. 

Blog Tour (14).png

My Thoughts:

The Queen of New Beginnings is the next book following on from The Queen of Blogging. Personally I would recommend reading them in order to get the most out of this book and also both books are very much deserving to be read.

I thoroughly enjoyed The Queen of Blogging and couldn’t wait to catch up with Kajsa again. I certainly wasn’t disappointed. Kajsa’s life just seems to be one catastrophe after another. Probably not great for her but hilarious for us readers.

The main stand out characters are with out a doubt Kajsa herself and her mother in law, Gull Britt.

Kajsa is trying her best to carry on, though not getting very far, as a single, out of work mother. Even though she comes across as a bit self centred at times, the further into the story we get, we see what a big heart she has really, even though some circumstances are some what forced on her.

Gull Britt, I absolutely loved! No way in this world would I want to end up having her live with me but she certainly is the star of this book and every bit with her in just had me chuckling like mad. Gull is like a lot of old people, very set in her ways and has each day planned with the same meals she has religiously on each set day. I have to admit to feeling a bit sorry for her as not only does her useless son not give her the attention she needs, Kajsa is even worse. It does make for some really funny reading though.

The Queen of New Beginnings is seriously screaming out to be made into a film. It would be sooooo good. This is an extremely fun filled read that will certainly appeal to fans of the Bridget Jones’ series. Packed full of humor set around one woman’s daily struggles, it is one I would certainly highly recommend to friends and family.

My thanks to Bombshell Books for an advanced readers copy. All opinions are my own and not biased in anyway.

Goodreads rating 4/5 stars.

The Queen of New Beginnings is available to purchase from Amazon.

Author Therese Loreskar.jpg

Author Bio:

 

Therese Loreskär started her carrier in 2010 as a Swedish author. She self-published her first novel which was very well received and quickly sold out!

In 2014 she signed up to a publishing house. Her novel called “The Queen of Blogging” was released and the feedback was overwhelming! People referred to the book as a modern “Bridget Jones” and couldn’t get enough of the main character, Kajsa. The next book “The Queen of Blogging 2” was released shortly after to all the reader’s delight.

Therese has since then published 4 bestselling children’s books as well. She often does tours at different schools and talks about her books. The children love her visits and Therese always enjoys talking to her little readers.

“The Queen of Blogging 1 & 2” have also been recorded and launched as audiobooks in addition to paper backs in Sweden. Her biggest dream is to have “The Queen of Blogging series” made into films, and she secretly keeps a list in an old drawer of presumptive actors that would do the characters in her books justice.

Her never-ending energy for writing and entertaining people with her characters is her biggest trait.

Therese lives in the countryside along the west coast of Sweden. She has a rather big and busy household, with (one) husband, two children, one deaf cat, five hamsters and a grandmother.

When she’s not busy making up stories and writing silly things, she enjoys the nature, people, history, redecorating the house without asking anyone for permission, and all other kinds of creativity.

Links: https://www.facebook.com/Loreskar/ http://enbergagency.se/therese-loreskar/ Instagram @loreskar

Strategy by Anita Waller #BlogTour @Bloodhoundbook @anitamayw

strategy 1

Book Description:

How much can one family take?  
 
Jenny Carbrook murdered three people to make it look as though there was a serial killer at work in Lincoln, when the only person she wanted to kill was Ray Carbrook, her father-in-law, who had raped her the week before her marriage to Mark, Ray’s son.  
 
Jenny wrote letters detailing her crimes in order to protect everyone she loved, but was forced to go into hiding before retrieving the evidence against her.  Not only did she leave the letters behind but also her young daughter, Grace.  
 

Now Jenny has a plan, a strategy, to get the letters back. But it’s not only the letters that Jenny has in her sights…

10th Aug- Books From Dusk Till Dawn Rae Reads11th Aug- As The Page Turns Reviews Bits About Books12th Aug- Confessions Of A Reading Addict Turn The Page13th Aug- Sweet Little

My Thoughts:

Strategy is the follow on from the brilliant 34 Days by the author. Please do read 34 Days before reading Strategy as you will get more from it and I think if you haven’t you will struggle with not knowing events from the previous book.

I was so glad to see that the author had written another book featuring the characters from the first novel. The book and the characters had stayed with me and I had been wondering what would happen next especially where it came to Jenny.

The story flicks between Jenny who is trying to get some incriminating letters back so that she can leave her past behind her and get on with her life and the rest of the family who are still trying to get on with their lives after the death of Anna in the previous novel.

My feelings for Jenny in 34 Days was quite mixed due to what she had been through but I really came to dislike her more in Strategy. She is selfish and puts her needs above and beyond everyone and everything else. I just wanted to grab her and give her a good slap to wake her up to see what she was doing to the people that were once her family.

Mark, Anna’s son and Jenny’s husband, I felt so much empathy for. He has been through a lot and is trying to do the best for his two children and even though lucky to have a good network round him to support him, tragedy never seems to far away.

Strategy is a gripping and tense follow up that is an absolute must read for fans of 34 Days. Full of thrills, shocks and heart breaking moments, readers really are in for a roller coaster of a read.

My thanks to Bloodhound Books for an advanced readers copy of this book. All opinions are my own and not biased in anyway.

Goodreads rating 4/5 stars.

Strategy is available to purchase from Amazon.

download (1).jpg

Author Bio

 

Anita Waller was born in Sheffield, South Yorkshire in 1946. She married Dave in 1967 and they have three adult children, Matthew, Siân and Kirsty along with seven grandchildren ranging in age from Brad at 23 down to baby Isaac at 2 ½ years.
She began writing when she was around 8 years of age, writing ‘compositions’ at junior school that became books with chapters.
In 1995 she sent Beautiful to a publisher and as they reached the contract stage the publisher went into liquidation. It was all to do with Eric Cantona and leaping over the barrier – don’t ask!
As a result, the book was consigned to the attic in dejected disgust but in 2013 it was dragged out again for an enforced complete re-type. The original was written on an Amstrad 8256 and the only thing that remained was one hard copy.
Anita is not a typist and it was painfully reworked over two years, submitted to Bloodhound Books who, within three days of reading it, offered her a contract. 31 August 2015 saw its release into the wide world.
Following the outstanding success of Beautiful, she began a sequel on 27 December 2015, finishing it on 19 March 2016. The new novel, Angel, was launched on 7 May 2016.
34 Days followed, with its launch in October 2016. This was a huge success, particularly in the United States. While this, her third book in the psychological thriller genre, was flying out in all directions, she began work on her fourth book.

 

Winterscroft was a change in genre. It is a supernatural tale, set in Castleton, Derbyshire, and its release date was February 2017.

 

While she was writing Winterscroft, it became very clear from reading reviews that a sequel to 34 days was needed, and she began work on that. Bloodhound Books will be launching her latest work, Strategy, on 10 August, 2017.

 

So where next? Her current work in progress is going by the working title A Legal Issue, and once again is a psychological thriller.
In her life away from the computer in the corner of her kitchen, she is a Sheffield Wednesday supporter with blue blood in her veins! The club were particularly helpful during the writing of 34 Days, as a couple of matches feature in the novel, along with Ross Wallace. Information was needed and they provided it.

Her genre is murder – necessary murder.

Links:

Amazon page:   https://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_sb_noss_1?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=anita+waller

Facebook page:  @anitawaller2015

Website:  anitamayw.wixsite.com/anitawaller

Twitter:   @anitamayw

 

Beautiful:

www.amazon.co.uk/Beautiful-Anita-Waller-ebook/dp/B014RCH5WM/

 

Angel:

www.amazon.co.uk/Angel-Anita-Waller-ebook/dp/B01DR4USZC/

 

34 Days:

www.amazon.co.uk/34-Days-Anita-Waller-ebook/dp/B01IP6YE0M/

 

Winterscroft:

www.amazon.co.uk/Winterscroft-Anita-Waller-ebook/dp/B06XMY3JD3/

Pay The Penance by Rob Ashman #BlogTour @Bloodhoundbook @RobAshmanAuthor

paythepenancebulletsfinal

Book Description:

Murder. Corruption. Revenge.  

 

Lucas has been tracking a killer, known as Mechanic, when his world is shattered. Unable to continue his hunt for the murderer he is forced to rely on his friend and colleague Dick Harper. But Harper has a knack for not playing by the rules. He doesn’t disappoint. 

 

Meanwhile Detective Moran is trying to piece her life back togetherThe police stumble upon new evidence without grasping its significance. She has to divert the investigation if she is to survive. 

 

The police are closer to Mechanic than they realise which putMoran right in the firing line. 

 

Mechanic, as usual, has other plans and the consequences for Lucas and Harper are terrifying… 

BLOG TOUR (7).png

My Thoughts:

Pay The Penance is the third and final book in the Mechanic trilogy. Please do read these in order as it will spoil your enjoyment somewhat if read out of sequence.

Having read and enjoyed the previous two novels in the trilogy, I literally could not wait to see how it would all end and boy I was not disappointed!

There are so many great characters in these books. Moran I probably loved that little bit more than the others. I love a strong female character and Moran ticked all the boxes for me. In a way it felt like she was the one in charge and looking out for Lucas and Harper.

I love the relationship especially between Lucas and Harper. It’s been a rocky one at times but it is a strong and solid one that you know will last a life time. They make a great duo and the fact that Moran made it more of a trio actually worked really well.

Mechanic, what to say about them. I really got to like them in the second novel and I had so much empathy in this one for them but there is no getting away that they are extremely damaged and have gone past the point of no return. In a way the reader knows how the outcome of the story is going to go. I mean there can only ever really be one way. The author still managed to shock and surprise me though with the way that they have ended it and I absolutely loved it.

Pay The Penance is an extremely satisfying finale of what has been a highly thrilling and entertaining series. I have to admit that I am going to miss the characters as they have been a big part of my life over the last few months. If you haven’t yet had the opportunity to read these books yet then I highly recommend doing so. The perfect read for fans of a seriously twisted serial killer.

My thanks to Bloodhound Books for an advanced readers copy of this book. All opinions are my own and not biased in anyway.

Goodreads rating 5/5 stars.

Pay The Penance is available to purchase from Amazon.

unnamed (4)

Author Bio:

Rob is married to Karen with two grown up daughters. He is originally from South Wales and after moving around with work settled in North Lincolnshire where he’s spent the last twenty-two years.

 

Like all good welsh valley boys Rob worked for the National Coal Board after leaving school at sixteen and went to University at the tender age of twenty-three when the pit closures began to bite. Since then he’s worked in a variety of manufacturing and consulting roles both in the UK and abroad.

 

It took Rob twenty-four years to write his first book. He only became serious about writing it when his dad got cancer. It was an aggressive illness and Rob gave up work for three months to look after him and his mum. Writing Those That Remain became his coping mechanism. After he wrote the book his family encouraged him to continue, so not being one for half measures, Rob got himself made redundant, went self-employed so he could devote more time to writing and four years later the Mechanic Trilogy is the result.

 

When he is not writing, Rob is a frustrated chef with a liking for beer and prosecco, and is known for occasional outbreaks of dancing.

 

Rob is delighted that all three books in the Mechanic Trilogy will be published with Bloodhound Books in 2017.

 

Those That Remain  –  22 June

In Your Name            –  13 July

Pay The Penance     –  8 August

 

Rob now writes full time and has recently completed his fourth novel titled Faceless.

Twitter tag : @RobAshmanAuthor

Facebook author page : 
Rob Ashman Author

Website link : 
www.robashman.com

 

The Blood of Kings by Angela King #CoverReveal @bombshellpub @angelaS969

Delighted to be able to share with you this afternoon the wonderful cover of Angela King’s novel, The Blood of Kings which is out on the 1st of September 2017. Don’t know about you but doesn’t it look intriguing? You can find out more about the book and the author below. 

Blood of Kings final .jpg

Book Description:

  1. A girl arrives in London to search for her brother. Aalia, an awkward, arrogant teenager plans to bring William to his senses, until she discovers that both their lives are based on a lie. Aalia must unravel a web of secrets but has the weight of her past to contend with. Courageous and undisciplined, Aalia gradually comes to terms with the truth that William, her brother, has royal blood. Deciding to undermine the men who want to use him as a pawn, Aalia must negotiate a world where secrecy arms the powerful. But unwilling to ask for anyone’s help she is forced into making a fateful decision. Who can she trust when everyone around her is plotting? Is the truth really something worth dying for?

This epic story of secrets and betrayal paints a vivid picture of Elizabethan England and asks questions that span beyond the test of time.

Angela Pic 1

Author Bio:

I’ve always loved words, those little black squiggles dancing around the page lead inside a secret world – the world of imagination.

 

I’ve always loved writing – diaries, stories, letters – I’m a compulsive writer. My favourite task is pinning the imagined world into words – it’s also the most exciting but I’d rarely let anyone read my work.

 

I was born in Wimbledon but my first memories are of Clapham Common, where I lived until I was six years old. Next I moved to Kent, to an ancient village on the fringes of the Thames Estuary. I loved books and dreamed of becoming a writer – my English teacher was really encouraging – but I come from a long line of practical dreamers who need first to earn a living.

 

After school I went to Medway College of Art in Rochester, to study design. The course was meant to teach design techniques that could be ‘geared’ to any medium but it failed, most students dropped out before the first term ended. I ‘geared’ towards costume and embroidery and during college holidays worked at ‘Bermans and Nathans’, a company who provided costumes for film, television and theatre.

 

My first ‘proper’ job was working as assistant designer to the most amazing man, Bruno Stern (there’s a book waiting to be written). The company was based in Dover Street and made beautiful clothes for the rich and famous. It was a surreal place to work but after problems getting home during a year of unplanned rail strikes, I decided to find employment nearer home.

 

By this time I’d married – Michael King. He was working as a goldsmith in Essex and we were living in the village of Paglesham when I got a job with a local theatrical costume company. I loved my job and started writing children’s books with an illustrator friend. Together we produced two little books – ‘Olly the Octopus’ and ‘The Squeaky Knight’. In 1980 I began working on my first novel when we had a season of disasters – Michael was involved in a terrible car crash, the company where he worked went bankrupt, my old dog died and our beautiful, grade 2 listed cottage, burned down. Feeling it was time for change we moved to Cumbria.

 

We started our own jewellery company in 1984, working from home. We had two small children and no income. Michael manufactured while I went out selling his work at craft fairs. We struggled at first – finding customers, building a reputation. We moved to bigger premises in 2002 and now employ four jewellers and two design consultants.

 

While my children were growing up I studied with the Open University. I also worked for a small company which made docu-history films for museums and wrote articles for magazines and specialist publications. Then, in 2008, two very close friends died, kicking me into action – if I didn’t write my novel soon it might never be written. I joined a couple of local creative writing groups and finally allowed my imagination to run free.

 

In 2016 I had short stories published in three different anthologies: Dark Minds (Bloodhound Books), Happily Never After (C & P Writers) and Dot, Dot, Dot, (Wiza Words).

 

My first novel – The Blood of Kings – is due to be published by Bombshell Books later this year.

Links:

Blog: https://anna.king969.wordpress.com

 

Twitter: A.S.King@angelaS969

 

Email: anna.king969@hotmail.co.uk

download (3)

Broken Bones by Angela Marsons #CoverReveal @bookouture @WriteAngie

Broken-Bones-Kindle.jpg

Book Description:

They thought they were safe. They were wrong.


The murder of a young prostitute and a baby found abandoned on the same winter night signals the start of a disturbing investigation for Detective Kim Stone – one which brings her face to face with someone from her own horrific childhood.

As three more sex workers are murdered in quick succession, each death more violent than the last, Kim and her team realise that the initial killing was no one-off frenzied attack, but a twisted serial killer preying on the vulnerable.

At the same time, the search begins for the desperate woman who left her newborn baby at the station – but what looks like a tragic abandonment turns even more sinister when a case of modern slavery is uncovered.

The two investigations bring the team into a terrifying world of human exploitation and cruelty – and a showdown that puts Kim’s life at risk as shocking secrets from her own past come to light.

A gripping new crime thriller from the Number One bestseller – you will be hooked until the final jaw-dropping twist.

Out on the 3rd of November but available to pre order now!

UK: http://amzn.to/2wwkvci

US: http://amzn.to/2vDLPsP

Angie - updated author photo - no credit needed

Author Bio:

Angela Marsons is the author of the Amazon Bestselling DI Kim Stone series – Silent Scream, Evil Games, Lost Girls, Play Dead, Blood Lines, Dead Souls and now Broken Bones. Her books have sold more than 2 million in 2 years.

She lives in the Black Country with her partner, their cheeky Golden Retriever and a swearing parrot.

She first discovered her love of writing at Junior School when actual lessons came second to watching other people and quietly making up her own stories about them. Her report card invariably read “Angela would do well if she minded her own business as well as she minds other people’s”.

After years of writing relationship based stories (The Forgotten Woman and Dear Mother) Angela turned to Crime, fictionally speaking of course, and developed a character that refused to go away.

She is signed to Bookouture.com for a total of 16 books in the Kim Stone series and her books have been translated into more than 20 languages.

Her last two books – Blood Lines and Dead Souls – reached the #1 spot on Amazon on pre-orders alone.

https://www.facebook.com/AngelaMarsonsAuthor/

@WriteAngie  https://twitter.com/WriteAngie

http://angelamarsons-books.com/

Prologue:

Black Country

Christmas Day

    

    Elaine Goddard sat on the roof of the thirteen storey block of flats.  The winter sun shone a grid on to her bare feet dangling over the edge.  

    The protective grate had been erected some years ago after a father of seven had thrown himself over.

    By the time she was eleven she had stolen a pair of wire cutters and fashioned herself an access point to the narrow ledge that was her place of reflection.

    From this vantage point she could look to the beauty of the Clent Hills in the distance, block out the dank, grubby reality of below.

    Hollytree was the place you were sent if Hell was having a spring clean.

    Problem families from the entire West Midlands were evicted from other estates and placed in Hollytree.  It was displacement capital.  Communities around the borough breathed sighs of relief as families were evicted.  No-one cared where they went.  It was enough that they were gone and one more ingredient was added to the melting pot.

    There was a clear perimeter around the estate over which the police rarely crossed.  It was a place where the rapists, child molesters, thieves and ASBO families were put together in one major arena.  And then guarded by police from the outside.

    But today a peace settled around the estate giving the illusion that the normal activities of robbing, raping and molesting were on pause because it was Christmas Day.  That was bollocks.  It was all still going on but to the backdrop of the Queens speech.

    Her mother was still slurring her way around the cheerless flat with a bottle of Gin in her hand.

    But at least Elaine had this.  Her one piece of heaven.  Always her safe place.  Her escape.

    She had disappeared unnoticed up here when she was seven years old and her mother had been falling all over the flat pissed as a fart.  

    How lucky was she to have been the only one of the four kids her mother had been allowed to keep?

    She had escaped up here when her mother’s drinking partner, Roddy, had started pawing at her groin and slobbering into her hair.  Her mother had pulled him off, angrily, shouting something about ruining her retirement plan.  She hadn’t understood it when she was nine years old but she had come to understand it now.

    She had cried up here on her sixteenth birthday when her mother had introduced her to the family business and to their pimp, Kai Lord.

    She’d been up here two months earlier when he had finally found her.

    And she’d been up here when she’d told him to fuck right off.

    She didn’t want to be saved.  It was too late.

    Sixteen years of age and already it was too damn late.

    Many times she had fantasised about how it would feel to lurch forward onto the wind.  She had envisioned herself floating to and fro gently making the journey like a stray pigeon feather all the way to the ground.  Had imagined the feeling of weightlessness of both her body and her mind.  

    Elaine took a deep breath and exhaled.  

    In just a few minutes it would be time to go to work.  Heavy rain, sleet, snow, Christmas – nothing kept the punters away.  Trade might be slow but it would still be there.  It always was.

    She didn’t hear the roof door open or the footsteps that slowly strode towards her.

    She didn’t see the hand that pushed her forward.

    She only saw the ground as it hurtled towards her.

Murder Game by Caroline Mitchel #CoverReveal @Caroline_writes @bookouture

Murder-Game-Kindle.jpg

ABOUT THE BOOK – MURDER GAME

 

To catch a killer, you must first think like one …

 

A killer is playing a twisted game of life or death with his victims. After he captures them, a countdown begins. He marks the time by sending clues to the whereabouts of the women he has taken in three disturbing images: alive, tortured, dead.    

 

In a race against the clock, East London Detective Ruby Preston must play the killer’s terrifying murder game and decipher the clues before more women die.

 

But this isn’t the first time the police have seen such a sickening crime. The notorious Lonely Hearts Killer, Mason Gatley, was put behind bars ten years ago for murdering six women in exactly the same chilling way. Desperate for more information, Ruby asks her gangster boyfriend, Nathan Crosby, to set up a dangerous meeting to allow her to see into the twisted mind of a murderer.

But the closer Ruby grows to the dark and charming Mason Gatley, the more worried her team becomes. Is he really helping her catch the killer? Or is he lining her up to be his next victim?

 

Fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott and Peter James will be hooked by this dark and utterly disturbing thriller, packed with twists until the final page.

UK: http://amzn.to/2v1l8v5

US: http://amzn.to/2umrDqp

IMG_6478

ABOUT THE AUTHOR


USA Today Bestselling Thriller Author.

Originally from Ireland, Caroline lives with her family, parrot and two dogs in a pretty village on the coast of Essex. A former police detective, Caroline has worked in CID and specialised in roles dealing with vulnerable victims, high-risk victims of domestic abuse, and serious sexual offences. Published by Bookouture and Thomas & Mercer, she now writes full time and all her books have become number 1 best sellers in their categories.

Her fast-paced DC Jennifer Knight thrillers carry a hint of the supernatural and are weaved from Caroline’s personal experiences in the police and paranormal.

Set in Shoreditch, London, her DS Ruby Preston series is described as “terrifying, addictive serial killer thrillers”. 

Caroline also writes psychological thrillers, the most recent, Witness, has been described as “thrilling, tense, exciting, dark and twisted in the best possible way”.

Sign up to join her Reader’s club for access to news, updates and exclusive competitions and giveaways. http://eepurl.com/IxsTj

 

Connect with Caroline:

www.caroline-writes.com

https://plus.google.com/+CarolineMitchell/posts

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/3076677.Caroline_Mitchell

Twitter: @Caroline_writes

www.pinterest.com/Writeparanormal

A Part Of Me by Emma Heatherington #CoverReveal @HarperImpulse @emmalou13

091771-FC50.JPG

You always think you have more time…

Juliette always thought she’d have more time. But as her fortieth birthday approaches she is dealt the deadliest of blows – she has just weeks to live. As the terrible news sinks in, Juliette’s only concern is for her fifteen-year-old daughter, Rosie. Who will take care of her precious child? Who will love her daughter with the same fierce love? The answer lies in a secret Juliette hoped never to reveal…

Devastated at the loss of her own baby daughter, Shelley is barely managing to survive. Consumed by her grief, she has pushed everyone away – including the man who loves her the most. With her once happy marriage now in tatters, Shelley has nothing left to live for.

But as the lives of these two women collide, could Juliette’s secret be the key to solving Shelley’s heartache? And could Juliette’s death give Shelley one final chance to live again…

Available to pre order from Amazon.

41OmbMaAUjL._UX250_

Emma Heatherington is from Donaghmore, Co Tyrone where she lives with her children – Jordyn (20), Jade (15), Dualta (15) Adam (14) and baby Sonny James. She has penned more than fifty short educational films, plays and musicals as well as seven novels for Poolbeg Press, two of which were written under the pseudonym Emma Louise Jordan. 
Her latest signing with Harper Impulse (Harper Collins) saw the re-release of Crazy For You in 2013 and The Legacy of Lucy Harte (Jan 2017) 
She loves spending time with her partner (the talented artist and singer/songwriter Jim McKee) all things Nashville, romantic comedy movies, singalong nights with friends and family, red wine, musical theatre, new pyjamas, fresh clean bedclothes, long bubble baths and cosy nights in by the fire.
Find Emma on Twitter @emmalou13 or on Facebook at emmaheatheringtonwriter