Recipes For Melissa by Teresa Driscoll

cover63115-mediumBook Description:

Is it ever too late for the gift of goodbye?

As I write now, you are eight years old – asleep in the bed next door in princess pyjamas, with a fairy costume discarded on the floor.

Twenty-Five. The age I had you. The age our story began. And the age, I hope, that will see you truly ready for the things that I need to say to you…

Melissa Dance was eight years old when her mother died. They never got to say goodbye.

Seventeen years later, Melissa is handed a journal. As she smooths open the pages and begins to read her mother’s words, she is instantly transported back to her childhood.

But returning to her past is painful and memories of her mother’s beautiful face are a cruel reminderto Melissa that she’ll never see her again.

As Melissa slowly makes her way through the precious book, reading the snippets of advice and cooking the dishes from the recipes she is also shocked to learn of her mother’s secrets – secrets that if shared, could change Melissa’s world forever.

A beautifully written, heartbreaking and ultimately uplifting story of a mother’s loving legacy for her daughter – perfect for fans of Rowan Coleman, Lucy Dillon and JoJo Moyes.

My Thoughts:

I’ve got to admit I was a bit dubious about this book as I’m not a lover of recipes unless
I’m reading a cookbook. To be fair though there isn’t many recipes and the ones that are in the book are quite short and actually sound really easy to make.

The story itself was really good and I knew it was going to be quite an emotional ride,
which it was. I love how the story flicks between Melissa, her dad Max and her mum, Eleanor. Between the main characters stories you get to see how everyone is affected by such a devastating illness.

The author has done a very beautiful job with this lovely story. I thought I would be crying bucket loads when I read the first chapter but the author has got the balance right so that it’s not to upsetting to read, though some parts will have you tearing up and I will admit
to filling up towards the ending, though not to give to much away, there is a happy ending
to it all.

Will certainly be watching out for more books by this author.

Many thanks to Bookouture and NetGalley for an Advanced Readers Copy of this book in
exchange for an honest review.

I have awarded this book 4 stars.


			

2 thoughts on “Recipes For Melissa by Teresa Driscoll

  1. I love reading! I belong to two book clubs here in the Netherlands, and also read the books that my mother reads for her book club in Maryland in the U.S., so I’m always looking for some new books to read. I like that you didn’t have a spoiler, but gave your emotional take on the book. Enjoy blogging; I’m also fairly new to the process as well–just started in January 2015!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s