Forsaken By J.D.Baker

23488236

Book Description:

New from Master of Suspense, J.D. BARKER

“J.D. Barker’s Forsaken is a remarkable debut, a gripping tale of suspense in the tradition of Stephen King, Dean Koontz, and John Saul. Truly the birth of a new master in the genre.”

Bram Stoker Award Nominee – Superior Achievement in a First Novel

“Incredibly written, supremely creepy. I don’t say this lightly: J.D. Barker is a force to be reckoned with.”
– NY Times Bestselling Author, Tosca Lee

“Scary as hell!”
– Editorial Review, Horror After Dark

“A talented writer with a delightfully devious mind!”
– International Bestselling Author, Jeffery Deaver

Book One of the Shadow Cove Saga

From the witch trials of centuries past, an evil awakens.

Inspired by Actual Events
Excerpt from the Journal of Clayton Stone – 1692
She was examined today without torture at Shadow Cove township on the charge of witchcraft. She said she was wholly innocent of the crime and has never in life renounced God. I watched as they brought her out. A poor, sickly thing, worn by her time behind the walls of her prison. Her bared feet and hands bound in leather, her clothing tattered to that of ruin. Despite such condition, her head was held high, her eyes meeting those of her accusers. She still refuses to provide her name so we remain unable to search baptismal records, nor has her family stepped forward to claim her as their own. We have no reason to believe she is anything but an orphaned child. I find myself unable to look at her directly in the moments preceding her trial. She is watching me though; with eyes of the deepest blue, she is watching me.

Thad McAlister, Rise of the Witch

When horror author Thad McAlister began his latest novel, a tale rooted in the witch trials of centuries past, the words flowed effortlessly. The story poured forth, filling page after page with the most frightening character ever to crawl from his imagination. It was his greatest work, one that would guarantee him a position among the legends of the craft.

But was it really fiction?

He inadvertently opened a door, one that would soon jeopardize the lives of his family.

She wants to come back.

At home, his wife struggles to keep their family alive. Secretly wondering if she caused it all…a deal she made long ago. A deal with the Forsaken.

My Thoughts:

I grew up reading horror novels by the likes of Stephen King, Dean Koontz and James Herbert, to name but a few. J.D Barker deserves to have his name up there with them.

A horror book that grips you from the start. I actually recommend if your brave enough to read this on a night time in a dark room as for me, reading this on my kindle in my bedroom with no lights on made the story really come to life.

The McAlister family are strong characters though I felt more drawn to Rachael the mother and Ashley the daughter. The story weaves between an old journal from years ago to present day and the horrors that are starting to unravel from the horror books that Thad McAlister has written.

The author does a wonderful job of describing the horrors that the family have to face and in parts you almost feel as if you are part of the book experiencing the sights and smells that the characters are experiencing.

This book is certainly not for the faint hearted and any thrill/scare seekers certainly won’t be disappointed!

This is the first book I have read by J.D.Barker and I will certainly be reading more.

I have awarded this book 5 stars.

About Sarah Hardyhttps://bytheletterbookreviews.wordpress.comI'm Sarah, I'm self employed and in my spare time I love to read. Due to my love of reading I thought I would set up a blog to share with people my thoughts on the books i've read.

3 thoughts on “Forsaken By J.D.Baker

  1. Pingback: Forsaken - Now Available at all Major Booksellers Worldwide | J.D. BARKER

  2. Pingback: Listen to Forsaken by J.D. Barker for Free on Audible! - J.D. BARKER

  3. Pingback: Win a FREE Copy of J.D. Barker's FORSAKEN Audiobook on Audible! - J.D. BARKER

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s