Pigeonwings By Heide Goody & Iain Grant


Book Description:

As punishment for his part in an attempted coup in Heaven, the Archangel Michael is banished to Earth. The holiest of the angelic host has to learn to live as a mortal, not an easy job when you’ve got Satan as a next-door neighbour.

Michael soon finds that being a good person involves more than helping out at Sunday school and attending church coffee mornings. He has to find his purpose in life, deal with earthly temptations and solve a mystery involving some unusual monks and a jar of very dangerous jam.

Sequel to the best-selling Clovenhoof, Heide Goody and Iain Grant have written a wild comedy that features spear-wielding cub scouts, accidental transvestites, King Arthur, a super-intelligent sheepdog, hallucinogenic snacks, evil peacocks, old ladies with biscuits, naked paintball, stolen tractors, clairvoyant computers, the Women’s Institute, and way too much alcohol.

My Thought’s:

Pigeonwings is the sequel to Clovenhoof.

Even though you could read Pigeonwings as a stand alone I would highly recommend reading Clovenhoof first as not only is it also hilarious the first meeting of the main characters Jeremy, Ben and Nerys is one that you don’t want to miss.

In Pigeonwings we meet a few new characters but the main one is Archangel Michael who like Jeremy has been sent to earth to go it alone and live as a mere mortal.

It is now the turn of Michael to figure out how humans live and having to come to terms with his new way of life. As with Jeremy in Clovenhoof, Michaels road of discovery is one of great enjoyment for the readers. There are quite a few funny incidents but I especially loved the story telling session with the children at Sunday school and the chapters with the cubs.

Even though I didn’t laugh out loud as much with this book as I did with Clovenhoof, Pigeonwings is still a really great read. How the 2 authors come up with such great characters and story lines is beyond me. These are books you really need to read to realise what gems they are, definitely the funniest series of books you will EVER read.

I have awarded this book 4/5 stars.

Pigeonwings is available to purchase from Amazon.co.uk and Amazon.com

One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s