Rhythm of Deceit (The NightHawk Series Book 2) By Rachael Richey


Book Description:

Two years after finally being reunited, Abigail Thomson and Gideon Hawk are happily married and living in Cornwall with their children.

While Gideon is busy focusing his energies on his musical career, Abi makes an unexpected discovery of old diaries dating from 1950. As she and her daughter read through them, the reasons behind Abi’s mother’s destructive actions become much clearer, and they discover a shocking sixty-year-old deception.

Meanwhile, Simon Dean, the vengeful ex-drummer of Gideon’s band NightHawk, is about to make life very difficult for them all—again—and he is prepared to go to desperate lengths to achieve his goals.

My Thoughts:

Rhythm of Deceit is the second in the Nighthawk series and I highly recommend reading Storm Rising first to get the full enjoyment out of this series.

I actually could not wait to read this book after finishing Storm Rising, I really wanted to see what Abi and Gideon’s lives were like now that they were reunited and how they were coping with their daughter, Natasha who they had only recently learned had not died at birth as Abi was lead to believe.

The story flicks between present day with Abi and Gideon trying to deal with the vengeful Simon and the past told in the form of diary entries that have been discovered by Arthur, Abi’s father after the death of her mother.

I can honestly say after enjoying Storm Rising that the author has excelled herself in Rhythm of Deceit. The storyline had me gripped throughout and as much as I enjoyed reading about the characters in the present I loved the diary entries which helps the readers as well as Abi and Natasha understand the very complex Joan.

Rhythm of Deceit is quite a steady paced read which certainly picked up momentum towards the end and had a few surprising twists that I really was not expecting. It was surprisingly edge of your seat reading in parts.

Apart from the devious ex drummer Simon, I really love all the characters in this story, everyone of them has just something about them that I found really appealing and likeable. Natasha I especially loved, for all that she has been through she is such an intelligent and level headed girl for her age and I love the bond that she and Abi have.

The NightHawk series is surprisingly addictive reading and a great read for young adults and adults alike.

Many thanks to the author for an Advanced Readers Copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.


Rhythm of Deceit is due to be published on the 29th of July, if you would like to pre order a copy please go to Amazon

1 thought on “Rhythm of Deceit (The NightHawk Series Book 2) By Rachael Richey”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s