The Good Neighbour By Beth Miller

23770308

Book Description:

Everyone has secrets. How far will you go to protect yours?

After living next to the neighbours from hell, Minette is overjoyed when Cath and her two children move in next door. Cath soon becomes her confidante, a kindred spirit, even her daughter’s babysitter.

But Cath keeps herself unusually guarded and is reluctant to speak of her past. And when Minette witnesses something unspeakable, she begins to question whether she really knows her new friend at all…

An addictive and gripping novel, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Daughter

My Thoughts:

The Good Neighbour is a great book that makes you think what really goes on behind your own neighbours doors and do we really know our neighbours that well at all?

To be honest apart from saying hello or the odd pleasantry that’s about as much as I have to do with my neighbours. Busy lifestyles don’t give many of us the chance to get to know our neighbours, which, after reading this book I actually think that it may be for the best to keep it that way!

Minette is just getting over the last neighbours from hell so when she meets Cath, mother of two, who seems quite friendly and laid back, a drastic change from the last ones, she is more than happy to get to know and befriend her.

As the story goes along, we soon realise that something is not quite right. Even though Cath seems like a lovely friend and mother, along with Minette, we start to see cracks appearing in Caths seemingly perfect life.

I have to say as the story goes along I found myself disliking Cath more and more. To be fair there isn’t many likeable characters in this story. The only people I did like was Minette and Davey, Caths son. Minettes husband Abe I had mixed feelings for, he was to much of a door mat and I wanted him to grow a back bone, though by the end I did start to think he was actually a lovely guy though still very much a door mat.

The Good Neighbour really makes for an intriguing read. I felt like a nosy neighbour peeking through the curtains whilst having a good old gaup at what was going on. With quite a few surprises, The Good Neighbour certainly makes for a memorable read and a must read for anyone with neighbours!

Many thanks to Beth Miller and Ebury Press for a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

I have awarded this book 4/5 stars.

The Good Neighbour is out now and available to purchase from Amazon

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s