The Runaway Bridesmaid By Daisy James

26804102

Book Description:

What a girl wants…

Squeezing herself into a frothy, flouncy, bubble-gum pink dress, Rosie Hamilton thinks that being a bridesmaid for her spoilt little sister Freya can’t get any worse. But discovering her boyfriend in a cupboard with the bride, ten minutes before Freya is due to say ‘I do’, is the icing on the sequinned wedding cake – and Rosie’s cue to pack her bags.

Swapping her Louboutins for Wellingtons, Rosie throws her bridesmaid bouquet in the air and flies from bustling New York to sleepy Devon. Her late Aunt Bernice’s cosy countryside cottage is the only place that’s ever felt like home. Now, for the first time in her life, and with the help of her beloved Aunt’s diaries, Rosie must put herself first for a change – and decide what she really wants…

A delightful romance, perfect for fans of Sophie Hart and Lindsey Kelk!

My Thoughts:

The Runaway Bridesmaid is a light hearted read that I flew through and was quite sad when I came to the end as I had enjoyed it that much.

Rosie is a wonderful character who after running away from her problems in New York is left with a new set of problems when she is left a delightful, though slightly run down lodge by her late aunt in a lovely and picturesque part of Devon.

Not only torn about her future she also finds herself torn between two men, Charlie and Austin. Austin is the typical sort of man that Rosie would go for and ticks all the right boxes for her so she is very confused when she meets the gorgeous and cheeky Charlie, who at times infuriates her, yet she can’t help feeling attracted to.

The authors descriptions of the idyllic setting and house that Rosie has been left brought me visions of most peoples dream home. It certainly needs a bit of tender loving care but the reader like Rosie can see past the worn out appearance for the wonderful home it used to be and can once again become. The garden and again the authors descriptions of the herbs had me imagining that I could actually smell the mint and the lavender that was growing in what I could easily imagine as being a prize winning garden.

After a bit of guidance from Susan, Rosie’s aunts dear friend, Rosie comes across her aunts diary and a book with lots of illustrations and some brilliantly titled recipes which certainly got my mouth watering. You will be pleased to hear that the recipes can be found at the end of the book should you wish to give them ago, though I have to admit my baking skills are very much like Rosies attempts in the book, which never really seemed to go well!

The Runaway Bridesmaid is a great novel that any true romantic will love. A woman torn between two men, romance on the cards and mouth watering food! What more could a girl ask for!

Many thanks to Netgalley and Carina UK for a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

I have awarded this book 4.5/5 stars.

The Runaway Bridesmaid is due to be published on the 28th of September and you can pre order a copy on Amazon.

3 thoughts on “The Runaway Bridesmaid By Daisy James

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s