Dead Simple (Roy Grace series Book 1) By Peter James


Book Description:

It was meant to be a harmless stag night prank. A few hours later four of his best friends are dead and Michael Harrison has disappeared. With only three days to the wedding, Detective Superintendent Grace – a man haunted by the shadow of his own missing wife – is contacted by Michael’s beautiful, distraught fiancée, Ashley Harper. Grace discovers that the one man who ought to know Michael Harrison’s whereabouts is saying nothing. But then he has a lot to gain – more than anyone realizes. For one man’s disaster is another man’s fortune . . . Dead simple . . .

My Thoughts:

I was lucky enough to be able to read an ARC of the authors latest book The House On Cold Hill which I loved. I hadn’t actually read anything else by the author even though I had already bought Dead Simple a while back but just not got round to reading it. Well after reading The House On Cold Hill I had to bump Dead Simple up my reading pile and boy am I glad I did.

Wow oh wow oh wow! That is how I felt when I finished this novel. The adrenalin is still coursing through me now whilst writing this review. I honestly feel like I have just got off one of the best roller coaster rides of my life.

Dead Simple starts off brilliantly and just does not stop. This really is a story of a race against time and the reader very much feels the pressure that Detective Superintendent Grace is under to try and find missing groom to be, Michael.

It is really hard to say to much about this story with out giving to much away. I do have to say what happens to Michael at the beginning of the story is most peoples worst nightmare but what is even worse is that things get even worse for him which I would never have thought possible.

Dead Simple is a non stop, fast paced read which by the end I could not get through the pages quick enough to see how things were going to end. Be prepared from picking up this book to not being able to put it back down until you have read it, that’s how good it is.

The best bit about this books is that it is the first in the series of books following Detective Superintendent Grace so I am over the moon that I have lots more books to look forward to reading by Peter James who I am now becoming a huge fan of.


Dead Simple is available to purchase from Amazon

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s