The Girls from See Saw Lane: A novel of friendship, love and tragedy in 1960s Brighton (Brighton Girls Trilogy Book #1) by Sandy Taylor

26623887

Book Description:

Brighton 1963. Mary Pickles and I walked along the street with our arms linked, looking in shop windows. We were best friends and together we were invincible.

Dottie and Mary forged a friendship over a bag of penny sweets when they were eight years old. They’ve shared everything together since then – the highs and lows of school, family dramas, hopes and dreams and now, at seventeen, they’re both shop girls, working at Woolworths.

As they go out in the world in pursuit of love and happiness, the simplicity of their childhood dissolves as life becomes more complicated. The heady excitement of first love will consume them both, but the pain of unintentional betrayal will test their friendship in ways neither of them could ever imagine…

A charming, heartbreaking and ultimately uplifting novel which brings a bygone era vividly to life. Fans of Nadine Dorries, Mary Gibson and Pam Weaver will love The Girls from See Saw Lane. Counting Chimneys coming soon.

‘I absolutely loved this book and couldn’t put it down. It has all the ingredients for a perfect read: fantastic, loveable and very real characters, an emotional and compelling storyline, and a brilliant setting in time and place.’ Louise Douglas

My Thoughts:

Wow oh Wow oh Wow!!!

The Girls From See Saw Lane is a beautiful tale of friendship, love, betrayal and forgiveness and one that will stay with me for a long time to come.

Dottie and Mary have the type of friendship that many of us would envy. Since Mary moved into See Saw Lane, her and Dottie have been firm friends. They do everything together, even working in the same shop when they leave school.

Even though they are firm friends, they are both very different. Mary has her head in the clouds, wanting to move well away from their childhood homes and make something of herself. She is fixated on Elton and is determined that she will make him hers. Dottie on the other hand is happy with the simpler things in life. She’s happy to stay where she has grown up, all she wants is to meet someone, marry, have children and settle down. When she bumps into Ralph, it seems her prayers have been answered.

Even though I was born in the seventies, I loved being taken back in time to the 1960’s and upwards to see how family life has changed since then. Through the authors writing, the book very much came to life for me. I felt like I was with Mary and Dottie when they went to eat chips on the pier or to the amusement arcades. The descriptions were very vivid in my head.

The Girls From See Saw Lane is a truly beautiful story that will touch your heart. Mary and Dottie will certainly live on in my head and my heart. I would love the author to do some sort of sequel to this book as that is how much I loved it.

Many thanks to Netgalley and Bookouture for an Advanced Readers Copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

256px-5-star-rating-logo-696680

The Girls From See Saw Lane is out today and available to purchase from Amazon



			
About Sarah Hardyhttps://bytheletterbookreviews.wordpress.comI'm Sarah, I'm self employed and in my spare time I love to read. Due to my love of reading I thought I would set up a blog to share with people my thoughts on the books i've read. I'm a member of a fantastic group called The Book Club on Facebook who not only have readers but bloggers and authors as members as well. I am also a member of NetGalley, so get the chance to read some books before they come out on sale.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s