The Girl Who Walked In The Shadows by Marnie Riches

25713849

Book Description:

The final edge-of-your-seat thriller in the Georgina MacKenzie trilogy. Fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo won’t be able to put it down!

Europe is in the grip of an extreme Arctic blast and at the mercy of a killer, who leaves no trace. His weapons of choice are razor-sharp icicles. This is Jack Frost.

Now a fully qualified criminologist, Georgina McKenzie is called upon by the Dutch police to profile this cunning and brutal murderer. Are they looking for a hit man or a frenzied serial-killer? Could there be a link to a cold missing persons’ case that George had worked with Chief Inspector Paul van den Bergen – two abducted toddlers he could never quite give up on?

The hunt for Jack Frost sparks a dangerous, heart-rending journey through the toughest neighbourhoods in Europe, where refugees and Roma gypsies scratch a living on the edge of society. Walking into the dark, violent world of a trans-national trafficking ring, can George outrun death to shed light on two terrible mysteries?

My Thoughts:

The Girl Who Walked in the Shadows is the third book in the Georgina MacKenzie series. I would highly recommend reading in order so that the reader can fully appreciate George’s background and her complex relationship with Chief Inspector Paul van den Bergen.

I have to admit I struggled with the relationship between George and Paul in the previous two books. I don’t know whether I have just come to terms with it or not but for me it just felt right in this one.

The story like the previous two is set in London and Amsterdam which I absolutely love.

Even though the whole series is quite dark, for me The Girl Who Walked in the Shadows takes it to a whole other level.

The Girl Who Walked in the Shadows takes the reader on a thrilling ride with plenty of twists and turns. There is so much going off what with Jack Frost and missing children that the reader can’t help but be gripped by the whole storyline.

I have enjoyed all three books in this series but with out a doubt for me, The Girl Who Walked in the Shadows is my favourite one. It ticks all the boxes and more in what I would expect out of a crime thriller and has left me hungry for more.

It does say in the book description that this is the final in the trilogy, I’m really hoping that this isn’t true as this has been a highly enjoyable series which I’m just not ready for it to end.

Many thanks to Netgalley and HarperCollins UK, Avon for an advanced readers copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Goodreads rating 5/5 stars.

The Girl Who Walked in the Shadows is due to be published on the 31st of March and is available to pre order on Amazon.

3 thoughts on “The Girl Who Walked In The Shadows by Marnie Riches

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s