The Good Mother by A. L. Bird ***Blog Tour***

29450806.jpg

Book Description:

The greatest bond. The darkest betrayal.

Susan wakes up alone in a room she doesn’t recognise, with no memory of how she got there. She only knows that she is trapped, and her daughter is missing.

The relief that engulfs her when she hears her daughter’s voice through the wall is quickly replaced by fear, knowing that whoever has imprisoned her has her daughter, too.

Devising a plan to keep her daughter safe, Susan begins to get closer to her unknown captor. And suddenly, she realises that she has met him before.

The Good Mother is a dark and disturbing psychological thriller for fans of C L Taylor, Kathryn Croft and S K Tremayne.

40ce2df3-fb58-4efb-88ea-83dd8e079984

My Thoughts:

The Good Mother I found to be quite a strange read yet one that is highly disturbing.

The issue I am currently finding with a lot of psychological thrillers, is due to the storyline and twists, it is extremely hard to say to much about the books with out giving to much away.

Susan, waking up in a strange room and a strange house had me gripped straight away. The emotions and fear that were going through Susan had me in turmoil as much as her.

The story flicks mainly between Susan and her captor.

I was as much in the dark as Susan is as to why she is being held against her will.

The story really is quite a dark one and to be honest I would never have guessed where the story was leading or to the outcome until it was there in front of me on the pages.

It really is hard to say much about the characters or story without spoiling it for other readers. It is certainly a story with a lot of twists of which kept taking me by surprise. I have to say it is one that has left me feeling slightly uncomfortable but in a good way as it will have me thinking about it for days, if not weeks after finishing.

A definite must read for lovers of this genre.

Many thanks to Netgalley and Carina UK for a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Goodreads rating 4/5 stars.

The Good Mother is out on the 4th of April and will be available from Amazon.

5b474cc3-20d7-4ec6-afb9-5066aa59666a

AL Bird lives in North London, where she divides her time between writing and working as a lawyer. The Good Mother is her major psychological thriller for Carina UK, embarking into the world of ‘grip-lit’. She has an MA in Creative Writing from Birkbeck, University of London, and is also an alumna of the Faber Academy ‘Writing a Novel’ course, which she studied under Richard Skinner. She’s also a member of the Crime Writers’Association. For updates on her writing, you can follow her on Twitter, @ALBirdwriter, on Facebook at www.facebook.com/ALBirdwriter or by visiting her website, at www.albirdwriter.com

About Sarah Hardyhttps://bytheletterbookreviews.wordpress.comI'm Sarah, I'm self employed and in my spare time I love to read. Due to my love of reading I thought I would set up a blog to share with people my thoughts on the books i've read.

4 thoughts on “The Good Mother by A. L. Bird ***Blog Tour***

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s