Counting Chimneys (Brighton Girls Trilogy Book 2) by Sandy Taylor

30179995

Book Description:

Brighton 1969: Dottie Perks steps off the train and breathes in the sea air, the smell of fish and chips, and the precious childhood memories of a friend and place she’ll never forget.

Dottie Perks has forged a new life for herself in London, a new job and sweet boyfriend Joe to keep her warm at night. She’s safe, happy and loved. What more could she ask for?

But when Dottie returns home to Brighton for a family celebration, the last person she expects to see is her first love; the boy who stole her heart… and broke it. Ralph Bennett.

As old familiar feelings come rushing to the surface, Dottie struggles to deny the strong chemistry that still exists between them. She can’t throw away everything to be with Ralph…can she? And if she does, how can they ever overcome the pain and tragedy of their shared past?

A beautiful, touching and heartbreaking story of love, loss and friendship. Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Mary Gibson and Katie Flynn.

My Thoughts:

Counting Chimneys is the second book in the Brighton Girls Trilogy. I strongly recommend reading The Girls From See Saw Lane, the first book in the trilogy before reading this one.

I absolutely loved the first book in this trilogy and I have to say it has been absolute torture waiting for this one to come out as I have been wondering so often about how the characters were and what they had been up to. Well finally my wait is over.

It was so good to catch up with Dottie again. She has moved to London and has gotten on with her life. When she goes back home to Brighton for a christening though she realises that she has been living a lie.

Dottie and Ralph are obviously still madly in love with each other but the path of true love is anything but an easy one.

There are so many wonderful characters and it felt like I was amongst friends. There is only Dottie’s sister, Rita, that is quite stuck up but I slowly warmed to her the further into the story I got.

Dottie has made a good friend in Polly from her time in London as well as the land lady and two male tenants in her new abode. By the end of this book believe me nearly all the characters will have stolen a bit of your heart.

Counting Chimneys is an emotionally charged novel that had me so enthralled that I lost all track of time. It is full of hope, love and heartbreak with some amazing friendships that will warm the cockles of your heart.

Now for the torturous wait for the third and final one.

Many thanks to Bookouture and Netgalley for a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Goodreads rating 5/5 stars.

Counting Chimneys: A novel of love, heartbreak and romance in 1960s Brighton (Brighton Girls Trilogy Book 2) is out today and available to purchase from Amazon.

2 thoughts on “Counting Chimneys (Brighton Girls Trilogy Book 2) by Sandy Taylor

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s