Outside Looking In: A darkly compelling crime novel with a shocking twist (DCI Matilda Darke, Book 2) by Michael Wood ***Blog Tour***

I am delighted to be the next stop on the blog tour for the fantastic Outside Looking In.

13265898_1148784708477936_6908591901266929925_n

Book Description:

‘DCI Matilda Darke is the perfect heroine’ Elly Griffiths

The second book in Michael Wood’s darkly compelling new crime series featuring DCI Matilda Darke. Perfect for fans of Stuart MacBride, Mark Billingham and Val McDermid.

When elderly George Rainsford goes to investigate a suspicious noise one night, the last thing he expects to find is a bloodbath. A man has been killed and a woman brutally beaten, left for dead.

The victims are Lois Craven and Kevin Hardaker – both married, but not to each other. Their spouses swear they knew nothing of the affair and, besides, they both have alibis for the attack. With nothing else to link the victims, the investigation hits a dead end.

The pressure is on for investigating officer, DCI Matilda Darke: there’s a violent killer on the loose, and it looks like her team members are the new targets. With no leads and no suspects, it’s going to take all Matilda’s wits to catch him, before he strikes again.

My Thoughts:

For Reasons Unknown which is the first book in the series as well as the authors debut novel, totally blew me away. It was in my top ten reads of 2015, so I’m sure you can imagine how ecstatic I was when publishing day came about and I got my hands on the second novel.

Matilda and her team have quite a shocking case to investigate but that’s not the only thing Matilda has to deal with. Unfortunately for her someone in the press seems to have it in for her and it is making her working life as well as her personal one, pretty much hellish to say the least.

I really think readers would benefit from reading the first book in the series before reading this one, solely because a character from the first book comes up in this novel and to understand the relationship between Matilda and them, it would certainly be better to have read For Reasons Unkown first.

The attack carried out on Kevin and Lois, truly is an horrific one and I think its hard for the family and the police to understand why someone would carry out such an horrendous act.

I really felt bad for both of the families that not only had to deal with the effects of the crime but also the fact that their loved ones had been having an affair. I just didn’t know how someone could cope with that sort of news. Matilda and the other officers on the case are obviously desperate to find out who attacked both victims as you can see that emotionally is is affecting them also.

My heart really went out to Matilda, she still isn’t over the death of her much loved husband and she is still beating herself up over a case of a missing boy as it still hasn’t been solved, of which the family hold Matilda fully responsible for. What with the press as well as nuisance phone calls she is receiving she really has it full on at the moment and there doesn’t seem to be any signs of her getting a break. She has her good friend Adele though as well as some good colleagues that work beside her, which to be honest is a good thing as I think she would find it even harder to cope with if she didn’t at least have them.

Outside Looking In is the amazing follow up to what was already a brilliant novel. I didn’t know if the author could create another belter of a read, but yet again he has not only delivered, but smashed what ever bar he set on the last novel. I seriously was not expecting some of the twists that occurred and I am sure I may have dribbled as my mouth was open that many times from my jaw dropping. The Matilda Darke series is an absolute must read for any crime fans and can’t recommend it highly enough.

Goodreads rating 5/5 stars. 

Outside Looking In: A darkly compelling crime novel with a shocking twist (DCI Matilda Darke, Book 2) is out now and available to purchase from Amazon.

 

13336067_1156188324404241_7539071306802654066_n.jpg

2 thoughts on “Outside Looking In: A darkly compelling crime novel with a shocking twist (DCI Matilda Darke, Book 2) by Michael Wood ***Blog Tour***

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s