The Helper: A dark crime thriller packed with twists (The Detective Callum Doyle Series) by David Jackson

28807371

Book Description:

Furiously fast-paced and totally unpredictable, a compulsive thriller is perfect for fans of Lee Child and Harlan Coben

An anonymous caller is willing to give you clues that will help you solve a series of murders.

But there’s a catch: You can’t tell anyone about the help you’re getting.

What do you do?

If you turn the offer down, you will have nothing to go on, and more people could die.
But if you accept it, and fail to interpret the clues correctly, they will still die, and you will have concealed information that could have stopped a killer.

Such is the dilemma faced by New York detective Callum Doyle.

The decision he takes will have consequences that will haunt him for the rest of his life.

My Thoughts:

What I love about the Callum Doyle series is that all the books can easily be read as stand alone’s. I should know as I have read them all out of sequence by starting with Cry Baby which is the fourth in the series to reading the first, third and then this one. So as you can see, totally out of sequence, which really isn’t like me at all but luckily it didn’t matter that they weren’t read in order and all have been worthy of five stars as have loved them all.

The Helper is quite different to the others in the series. This is due to the killer dropping hints to Cal in order to give him a chance to try and stop the murders before they happen. This not only infuriates Cal but the reader also. You need to be psychic at times I think to work the hints out and understandably Cal is beating himself up when he doesn’t manage to stop them in time.

It felt very much like a cat and mouse game where the killer has the upper hand and is more powerful whilst Cal is the mouse who just seems to be running back and forth with no idea of what is going on but knowing he has to put a stop to it. It is a very fast paced read and very much a race against time to try and stop even more innocent people being killed.

I loved Gonzo’s character in the book. He is a bit of a techno geek who fancies himself as a bit of a detective and gets under Cal’s feet whilst trying to help him solve the murders. It is obvious that Cal finds Gonzo annoying but he can’t help admiring his determination and I think he has a bit of a soft spot for him.

The Helper is yet another griping ride in the series that will have you holding on tight. With shocks and twists a plenty it left me feeling breathless by the end. Loved it!

Goodreads rating 5/5 stars.

The Helper is available to purchase from Amazon.

 

12 thoughts on “The Helper: A dark crime thriller packed with twists (The Detective Callum Doyle Series) by David Jackson

    1. I agree, I always try to read in order but sometimes if a book doesn’t make it clear that it’s part of a series I will buy it then when I realise sometimes I don’t enjoy it as much as I feel like i’m missing out on stuff. Luckily didn’t feel like this with any of this authors books. x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s