The Taken by Casey Kelleher ***Blog Tour***

31428978

Book Description:

When you’ve lost everything, you’ll do anything to survive.
Saskia Frost’s world is blown apart when her dad dies. Without any family, she’s on her own now and up to her eyeballs in her father’s debts. He owed a lot of money to some very dangerous men – Joshua and Vincent Harper. Before long, aspiring ballerina Saskia finds herself lap-dancing in a London club to survive. A club run by the infamous Harper brothers. Saskia is now their property and they’re going to make her pay every penny back.

Teenager Lena Cona has fled a cruel and controlling marriage. She arrives in England with her newborn daughter, desperately relying on strangers for help. But she soon learns that not everyone can be trusted as she finds herself caught in the clutches of Colin Jefferies, a twisted individual obsessed by his own sinister secrets. As the sickening truth is revealed, Lena is forced to fight for her life – and her baby’s.

When their worlds collide, Lena and Saskia form an unlikely friendship. But with the terrifying Harper brothers on their tail, as well as Lena’s vengeful and violent husband, can they escape with their lives?

Fans of Martina Cole and Kimberley Chambers will lose themselves in this brilliantly tense and gripping story.

unnamed-17

My Thoughts:

I’ve read all but one so far of this authors novels and every one has been without a doubt a five star read. The Taken though has taken it to a whole new level as it is literally outstanding. It is just sooooo good. So good in fact that as soon as I started it the whole outside world was forgotten and I did not put it down until I had read the very last page.

This authors novels are always dark and hit you right in the gut. She doesn’t hold back on what happens in the real world and her stories are so realistic that what is happening to her characters feels like it could be happening to us as we feel the fear and emotions that they feel.

In The Taken we meet two teenagers who have led relatively happy lives but both of their worlds change dramatically over night which see them having what is left of their childhoods ripped away from them and sent hurtling into an adulthood which most of us wouldn’t wish even for our enemies.

What I loved in particular about this novel is how two total strangers who are really worlds apart, have an impact on each others lives as well as the readers. Both in their own way are fighters and are not prepared to take things lying down. Without a doubt what happens to Lena is just awful but Saskia’s story is never the less just as riveting. I also couldn’t help but have a soft spot for Misty in the story either. Even though she has hardened somewhat to the environment that she lives in, she still has a heart of gold and I loved how she takes Saskia under her wings and watches out for her even though it could mean bad things for her.

The author cleverly weaves the girls stories together so that it blends perfectly. The author doesn’t stop there though, she throws a curve ball in there as well just to keep the readers even more on their toes which truly leads to a chilling and thrilling experience.

The Taken may not be a comfortable read with it’s hard hitting storyline but it is very relevant and within keeping to what is happening right now in the world. The characters and their story totally captivate the reader so much so that they grab them by the head and the heart making themselves and their story impossible to ever forget.

An outstanding novel by one extremely talented lady who though likened to some other pretty amazing authors, I think she is well and truly in a league of her own.

My Thanks to Netgalley and Bookouture for a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Goodreads rating 5/5 stars.

The Taken was published on the 5th of October and is available to purchase from Amazon.

US: http://amzn.to/2aIO1DH

unnamed-18

About the author:

 

Born in Cuckfield, West Sussex, Casey Kelleher grew up as an avid reader and a huge fan of author Martina Cole.

Whilst working as a beauty therapist and bringing up her three children together with her Husband, Casey penned her debut novel Rotten to the Core. Its success meant that she could give up her day job and concentrate on writing full time.

www.caseykelleher.co.uk

www.facebook.com/OfficialCaseyKelleher

www.twitter.com/CaseyKelleher

 

2 thoughts on “The Taken by Casey Kelleher ***Blog Tour***

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s