A Room Full of Killers (DCI Matilda Darke, Book 3) by Michael Wood

32078405

Book Description:

‘DCI Matilda Darke is the perfect heroine’ Elly Griffiths

The third book in Michael Wood’s darkly compelling crime series featuring DCI Matilda Darke. Perfect for fans of Stuart MacBride, Mark Billingham and Val McDermid.

Eight killers. One house. And the almost perfect murder…

Feared by the people of Sheffield, Starling House is home to some of Britain’s deadliest teenagers, still too young for prison. Now the building’s latest arrival, Ryan Asher, has been found brutally murdered – stabbed twelve times, left in a pool of blood.

When DCI Matilda Darke and her team investigate, they uncover the secrets of a house tainted by evil. Kate Moloney, the prison’s manager, is falling apart, the security system has been sabotaged, and neither the staff nor the inmates can be trusted.

There’s only one person Matilda believes is innocent, and he’s facing prison for the rest of his life. With time running out, she must solve the unsolvable to save a young man from his fate. And find a murderer in a house full of killers…

My Thoughts:

Having read the other books in this series, I have to say this is one book I have been very much looking forward to coming out. The wait has very much been a worth while one as I don’t just think, I know, without a doubt this is the best one in the series so far, even though I did love the others also.

What a story line! I was totally fascinated by the residents of Starling House. In a way the character Rory, who is one of Matilda’s team, was acting out how I would exactly be. I was desperate to know why a child would kill and especially in the horrific ways that they carried it out. I was as desperate as Rory was to get into their minds and understand them that bit better.

I loved how every so often a chapter would be throw in, in to how each boy had killed their victims. My goodness it didn’t half make for some shocking yet riveting reading. As awful as it was, I literally could not get enough and couldn’t wait to come across the next one.

In the search for the murder of Ryan Asher, Matilda comes across another young lad who not only pulled on her heart strings but pulled on mine also. No one else believes his innocence and Matilda risks everything to prove it. This thread of the story was certainly a bit of a heart wrencher and I had tears in my eyes more than once!

A Room Full Of Killers is without a doubt a nail biting and gripping read. Believe me, when you pick it up you are going to struggle to put it back down. Totally loved it and if you haven’t read any of the books in the series yet I really urge you to give them a go, as believe me you won’t regret it.

My thanks to Netgalley and HarperCollins UK, HareperFiction for a copy of this book. All opinions are my own and not biased in anyway.

Goodreads rating 5/5 stars.

A Room Full Of Killers is out today and available to purchase from Amazon.

One thought on “A Room Full of Killers (DCI Matilda Darke, Book 3) by Michael Wood

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s