The Beachside Sweet Shop: A feel good romantic comedy (Beachside Bay Book 1) by Karen Clarke @bookouture @karenclarke123

33387759

Book Description:

When Marnie Appleton inherited a sweet shop from her grandfather she was determined to do his legacy proud. The shop has been a much-loved feature of the little seaside town of Shipley for years, but now Marnie needs to bring it up to date, and she’s recruited gorgeous new assistant Josh to help.

Marnie gets busy redecorating the shop and choosing delicious new sweets to stock, but things are never that simple: new neighbour Isobel, a fame-hungry blogger, is on a crusade against sugar, and she’ll go to any lengths to secure bad publicity for Marnie’s shop.

Marnie fights back with homemade sugar-free treats, but with her best friend Beth heavily pregnant, her grandmother Celia recovering from an operation, and her very recently ex-boyfriend Alex returning to Shipley with a new love, Marnie has a lot on her plate.

And then there’s Josh, with whom Marnie is struggling to keep her relationship strictly professional…Will both the sweet shop and love flourish?

A deliciously heartwarming read about family, friends and handmade coconut ice. Perfect for fans of Cressida McLaughlin, Debbie Johnson, and Tilly Tennant.

My Thoughts:

The Beachside Sweet Shop is a book with one of my dream jobs. It’s probably a good thing that I don’t actually work in a sweet shop as don’t think my waist line would be happy with me and I would probably gobble all the profits!

This is one of those novels that you just melt into. As soon as I picked it up before I knew it I had nearly finished it. I was so wrapped up in Marnie’s life I was actually very sad when it came to the end.

Marnie I loved. She is a great character. Her love life hasn’t quite gone to plan and she has itchy feet wanting to move on and see the rest of the world. She feels very tied to the family business though and doesn’t seem to be able to cut the ties.

There is a great selection of characters in the story. Some not so nice, some you warm to over the story and others that you take to straight from the start. I loved the whole story line and really enjoyed that I was wrong in how it was all going to end. The author certainly keeps a few surprises up her sleeve and it is far from your stereo typical read in it’s genre. The author for me gives it a bit more of an edge and it felt very much a modern and up to date read in today’s world.

The Beachside Sweet Shop is a fizzy, sweet, tingling kind of read. It’s like a chunk of chocolate that you leave on your tongue that melts and makes you feel all snug and lovely inside. Totally loved it and can’t wait to read more by the author.

Goodreads rating 5/5 stars.

The Beachside Sweet Shop is out now and available to purchase from Amazon.

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Beachside Sweet Shop: A feel good romantic comedy (Beachside Bay Book 1) by Karen Clarke @bookouture @karenclarke123

  1. I don’t think I’ve read any negative reviews of this book! I bought it a few weeks ago but haven’t gotten to it yet. I’m really looking forward to it though, especially seeing all the 5 star ratings its getting. Great review Sarah!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s