Lost In The Lake by A. J. Waines @AJWaines

51gLxng2o6L.jpg

Book Description:

She came at first for answers…now she’s back for you

Amateur viola player Rosie Chandler is the sole survivor of a crash which sends members of a string quartet plunging into a lake. Convinced the ‘accident’ was deliberate, but unable to recall what happened, she is determined to recover her lost memories and seeks out clinical psychologist, Dr Samantha Willerby.

But Rosie is hiding something…

Sam is immediately drawn to the tragic Rosie and as she helps her piece the fragments together, the police find disturbing new evidence which raises further questions. Why is Rosie so desperate to recover her worthless viola? And what happened to the violin lost in the crash, worth over £2m?

When Rosie insists they return to the lake to relive the fatal incident, the truth about Rosie finally creeps up on Sam – but by now, she’s seriously out of her depth…

A stand alone novel (and the second book in the Dr Samantha Willerby series), Lost in the Lake is a nail-biting, edge-of-your-seat Psychological Thriller that will leave you glancing over your shoulder.

Perfect for fans of Nicci French, Paula Hawkins and Samantha Hayes.

My Thoughts:

Lost In The Lake is the second book in the Dr Samantha Willerby series. Even though I think it works fairly well as a stand alone, due to some references to events that happen in the first book, some readers may find it beneficial to read Inside The Whispers, the first book in the series prior to reading this one.

Rosie right from the start the reader knows that not all is right with her. She has had a lot go on in her life, mainly in her childhood and saw things no child should ever have to witness. It has obviously deeply affected Rosie, more than she probably realises. Her more recent accident has her feeling slightly helpless as she can’t remember stuff surrounding the event which is a position she doesn’t like being in.

Sam on the other hand, though wanting to help Rosie, knows that something isn’t quite right. She just can’t put her finger on it though. She knows Rosie is starting to get to dependent on her but Sam’s professional side is determined to see her sessions through with Rosie.

There are a couple of threads running through the story, mainly to do with Rosie but also with Sam trying to build bridges with her sister which are some what strained.

Lost In The Lake is an intriguing read that will hook you from the very start. The intrigue and tension builds up throughout the story so you are sent hurdling to a satisfying end. Really enjoying this series so far and very much look forward to the next book in the series.

My thanks to the author for an advanced readers copy of this book. All opinions are my own and not biased in anyway.

Goodreads rating 4/5 stars.

Lost In The Lake is available to purchase from Amazon.

About Sarah Hardyhttps://bytheletterbookreviews.wordpress.comI'm Sarah, I'm self employed and in my spare time I love to read. Due to my love of reading I thought I would set up a blog to share with people my thoughts on the books i've read.

One thought on “Lost In The Lake by A. J. Waines @AJWaines

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s