The Worst Case Scenario Cookery Club by Chrissie Manby @HodderBooks @chrissiemanby

35582348.jpg

Book Description:

In the quaint seaside town of Newbay, a beginner’s cookery course is starting. And three very different students have signed up…

Liz‘s husband has left her for a twenty-something clean-eating blogger, and she’s determined to show the world – and her daughter – she’s just as capable in the kitchen. John, newly widowed after fifty years of marriage, can’t live on sympathy lasagnes forever. To thirty-year-old workaholic Bella, the course is a welcome escape from her high-pressure job. Their only common ground: between them, they can barely boil an egg!

Enter talented chef Alex, who is determined to introduce his pupils to the comforts of cuisine. As Liz, John and Bella encounter various disasters in the kitchen, the unlikely trio soon form a fast friendship. Their culinary skills might be catastrophic – but could the cookery club have given them a recipe for happiness?

The wonderful new novel from bestselling author Chrissie Manby is perfect for fans of Jill Mansell, Trisha Ashley, Cathy Bramley, and The Great British Bake Off.

My Thoughts:

I am so embarrassed that this is my first novel by this author. I will soon be rectifying that after reading this fabulous book.

Even though the story introduces us to three very different characters, Liz, John and Bella, Liz is definitely the main character of the book as the story focuses more on her life than the others.

I loved Liz. She isn’t having an easy time of it having her husband leave her for a much younger blogging health guru celebrity, a teenage daughter and an overweight dog. I have to admit I found her self control of when it came to her daughter amazing. I don’t think I could have kept my calm as well when she seems to be under the influence of her fathers new bit on the side and causes poor Liz lots of grief. Ted the family dog really made me laugh. The storyline of him going to doggy weight loss classes had me howling.

John and Bella do stand out in their own right. Their back ground stories were heart warming and you really embraced them both.

This really is such a fabulous read. Through Liz’s story, it really does bring so much humour to the book and I dare you to try and not laugh, as I for one couldn’t control it!

Funny, heart warming and engaging. The Worst Case Scenario Cookery Club is this years must read.

‘Great love is like great home-made food. They’re both much better shared.’ My favourite quote from the book.

My thanks to Hodder & Stoughton for a copy of this book. All opinions are my own and not biased in anyway.

Goodreads rating 5/5 stars.

The Worst Case Scenario Cooker Club is out now on kindle and 21st of September in paperback and you can get your copy from Amazon.

4 thoughts on “The Worst Case Scenario Cookery Club by Chrissie Manby @HodderBooks @chrissiemanby

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s