The Lost Daughter Of Liverpool by Pam Howes @bookouture @PamHowes1

51kptR-9QSL

Book Description:

Can she save herself, her marriage – and her daughter?

It’s 1946 and the war is over. In Liverpool, the blackout blinds may be coming down, but one family is about to face devastating misfortune…

Dora Evans is finally marrying the love of her life, Joe Rodgers, and her dreams of opening a dressmaking business look as if they might come true. With twin daughters on the way, Dora has everything she’s ever wanted. 

But then tragedy strikes: one of Dora’s babies dies in infancy, and a catastrophic fire changes their lives forever. Dora is consumed with grief, struggling to get through each day and Joe is suddenly distant, finding solace in his colleague, Ivy

With Ivy watching and scheming, and Dora battling against her own demons, can she keep her family together?

The Lost Daughter of Liverpool is a heartbreaking and gripping story of love, loss and hope. Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Diney Costeloe and Kitty Neale. Discover Pam’s new series, The Mersey Trilogy, today.

My Thoughts:

This is the first in a trilogy as well as the first book I have read by the author. It certainly will not be the last either!

Life is pretty good for Dora. She is marrying the man of her dreams, she has a wonderful best friend who is dating her brother Frank and things look on the up for the two friends with their dress making business. Sadly after giving birth, life seems to take a different course and what should be a happy time in her life soon becomes one of the saddest.

I so wanted to reach out and hold Dora and take away the pain that she was going through. Life just seems to hit her hard and when she looks set to recovering she is knocked sideways again. What she goes through in the space of a few years is something that I would hope wouldn’t happen in a life time.

There are some really wonderful characters in this book. There is only Ivy that I took an instant dislike to. She has always held a torch for Joe and she uses Dora’s personal losses to help her in try and win Joe away. I wanted to give her a good slap. At times I also wanted to give Joe one for being to trusting and not seeing the manipulative person that she really is.

This is very much a story about love, loss and being strong when it feels like the world is against you. Heart breaking and gripping, I can not wait to catch up with the characters again in the second in the trilogy.

Goodreads rating 5/5 stars.

The Lost Daughter Of Liverpool is available to purchase from Amazon.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s