Christmas At Mistletoe Cottage: Book 2 (The Hope Meadows Series) by Lucy Daniels @HodderBooks

51B2WHDu3mL

Book Description:

Christmas has arrived in the little village of Welford. The scent of hot roasted chestnuts is in the air, and a layer of frost sparkles on the ground.

This year, vet Mandy Hope is looking forward to the holidays. Her animal rescue centre, Hope Meadows, is up and running – and she’s finally going on a date with Jimmy Marsh, owner of the local outward bound centre.

The advent of winter sees all sorts of animals cross Mandy’s path, from goats named Rudolph to baby donkeys – and even a pair of reindeer! But when a mysterious local starts causing trouble, Mandy’s plans for the centre come under threat. She must call on Jimmy and her fellow villagers to put a stop to the stranger’s antics and ensure that Hope Meadows’ first Christmas is one to remember.

One thing’s for certain: this Christmas, there’ll be animal escapades, kisses under the mistletoe…and plenty of festive cheer for all.

Hope Meadows is based on the globally bestselling Animal Ark series. Perfect for fans of Katie Fforde, Holly Martin and Heidi Swain.

My Thoughts:

This is the first book I have read by this author. Even though it is the second book in a series, I didn’t feel like I was missing out on anything and it read very well as a stand alone.

This was a lovely book to lose myself into. A lovely village with lots of countryside and scenic views and to top it all an animal rescue centre, if you are an animal lover then this is certainly one to add to your list.

Mandy I really liked. A vet who is also trying to keep her head above the water with the animal sanctuary. She takes in the waif and strays of animals, giving them a second chance to find a forever loving home. I fell in love with so many of the animals that I would have wanted to take them all home.

Sadly someone seems to have it in for Mandy and the animal sanctuary and everyone in the village tries to rally round and get to the bottom of it all.

This is a book that can easily be read and enjoyed by young adults and older. It is a lovely and Christmassy read that is perfect for this time of year. My only niggle is that I found it slightly confusing that Mandy’s parents were referred to as Adam and Emily as there were parts that would mention dad and Emily, or mum or mother would be used in the same sentence as Emily and it kept throwing me as thought another character had come into it somewhere. Otherwise it’s a heartwarming and lovely read.

Christmas At Mistletoe Cottage is a delightful and festive read that will definitely leave you wanting to visit the village again sometime soon.

My thanks to Bookbridgr and Hodder for a copy of this book. All opinions are my own and not biased in anyway.

Christmas At Mistletoe Cottage is available to purchase on Kindle now and 2nd of November for the paperback from Amazon.

 

About Sarah Hardyhttps://bytheletterbookreviews.wordpress.comI'm Sarah, I'm self employed and in my spare time I love to read. Due to my love of reading I thought I would set up a blog to share with people my thoughts on the books i've read.

One thought on “Christmas At Mistletoe Cottage: Book 2 (The Hope Meadows Series) by Lucy Daniels @HodderBooks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s