The Liverpool Girls by Pam Howes @bookouture @PamHowes1 #BlogBlitz

51pLd0nrZBL.jpg

Book Description:

Will tragedy tear them apart – once and for all?


It’s 1966 and in Liverpool two sisters are about to have their lives turned upside down…

Sisters Carol and Jackie haven’t had the easiest of childhoods, but as they grow up and begin their own lives both hope for happier times ahead. Stylish Carol works in Lewis’s department store, while Jackie dreams of drama school, and a career on the stage.

But the sisters are heartbroken when they discover they have been dating the same man, and an unexpected pregnancy causes a rift between them. Parents Dora and Joe must overcome their past hurts and help their daughters, despite the meddling of Joe’s second wife Ivy.

As the sisters’ troubles spiral and difficult decisions must be made, can the family pull together – or will Jackie and Carol’s sisterly bond be destroyed forever?

The Liverpool Girls is a heart-breaking and compelling story of family, loss and love. Perfect for fans of Annie Groves, Anne Baker and Kitty Neale.

The Liverpool Girls - Blog Tour

 

My Thoughts:

This if the third book in the trilogy and I highly recommend you read them in order.

Having been a fan of the first two books in the trilogy I really couldn’t wait to read this one. Time has passed since we were last with Dora and her girls are both young adults now. Where as the first two books concentrate on Dora, Carol and Jackie take centre stage this time round and boy does it make for some gripping reading.

I have read each of these books in one sitting. They are just too good to put down. The author really draws you in and I felt like I was there in the 1960’s slap bang in Liverpool itself.

Carol has always been a bit of a feisty one, even when she was a child. I had a kind of love, hate relationship with her. Hate is a bit strong actually as I didn’t hate her but I did find myself disliking her quite often.

Jackie I loved. She is very much her mothers daughter and I took to her straight away as she had grown up to be a mature and lovely lady. Her relationship with Sandy was such an emotional roller coaster of a ride and my heart felt like it was literally going to burst at times.

The Liverpool Girls is a powerful and moving story that I didn’t want to end. A gripping saga of love, loss and relationships. A 5 star trilogy that is a must read for fans of this genre.

My thanks to Bookouture and Netgalley for an advanced readers copy of this book. All opinions are my own and not biased in anyway.

Goodreads rating 5/5 stars.

The Liverpool Girls is available to purchase from Amazon.

Red dress profile pix 003

About the author: 

Pam Howes was born in Cheshire. She is a retired Interior Designer who began writing seriously in the mid nineties. The idea for her first novel, set in the sixties, was inspired by her time as a teenager, working in a local record store and hanging around with musicians who frequented the business. That first novel evolved into a series set in the fictional town of Pickford, based on her home town of Stockport. Three Steps to Heaven; ‘Til I Kissed You; Always On My Mind; Not Fade Away, and That’ll Be The Day, follow the lives and loves through the decades of fictional Rock’n’Roll band The Raiders. Pam is a big fan of sixties music and it’s this love that compelled her to write the series. A stand-alone true-life romance, Fast Movin’ Train, set in the nineties, was published in early 2012. A new series of Fairground Romances, set in the sixties, begins with Cathy’s Clown, to be followed by Ruby Tuesday early 2016. Pam is mum to three adult daughters, grandma to seven assorted grandchildren, and roadie to one musician partner. She still lives in Cheshire and is currently involved in raising awareness of her home-town’s musical heritage with campaigns to have Blue Plaques erected on the walls of local clubs, The Manor Lounge and The Sinking Ship, where the likes of The Walker Brother’s, The Who and Jimi Hendrix played; now closed, but still firmly in the hearts of Stockport’s recycled teenagers.

Pam recently signed a contract with the award winning publisher Bookouture and the first novel in her new trilogy, The Lost Daughter of Liverpool, will be on sale in February 2017

All books are available in Kindle format, paperback, and Fast Movin’ Train is also available as an audio book.

Follow her on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Pam-Howes-Author/260328010709267

And Twitter @PamHowes1

 

About Sarah Hardyhttps://bytheletterbookreviews.wordpress.comI'm Sarah, I'm self employed and in my spare time I love to read. Due to my love of reading I thought I would set up a blog to share with people my thoughts on the books i've read.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s