The Runaway Children by Sandy Taylor #BlogBlitz @bookouture @SandyTaylorAuth

51fA8fxkKyL._SY346_

Book Description:

An unforgettable journey of two evacuee sisters during the Second World War – and their determination to stay together, no matter what.

London, 1942: Thirteen-year-old Nell and five-year-old Olive are being sent away from home to escape the devastation of the East End during the Blitz. Leaving behind their beloved mother and brothers, they don’t know if they will ever see them again. 

As the sisters adjust to their new life in a close-knit Welsh village, they gradually find hope in the friendships they make. And Nell kindles a special bond with fellow evacuee Jimmy, who makes her smile even at the hardest of times. 

But when little Olive’s safety is threatened, Nell makes a decision that will change their lives forever. They must run from danger and find their way home…

Together, through tears and laughter, the two sisters hold each other’s hands as they make an incredibly brave journey across war-torn England. Will they be reunited with the family they have missed for so many years? Or is there more heartache to come?

A moving story of unconditional love, friendship and the fight for survival during a time of unimaginable change. This book is guaranteed to find a place in your heart. Perfect for fans of Orphan Train and The Girl With No Name. 

The Runaway Children - Blog Tour

My Thoughts:

What an absolutely fabulous book this is.

I have to start with Olive from the book. What an adorable and wonderful character. There is such a lovely innocence about her and she brings a certain amount of humour into the story. I absolutely loved the relationship between her and Nell, it truly was so lovely to read and my heart just melts even now just thinking about it.

Nell is yet another fabulous character. Having to grow up quickly whilst being a mother as well as a sister to Olive. I couldn’t imagine being sent away from home and having to live with strangers, even though it is for their own safety. I wanted to reach out and give a big hug so many times with what she has to carry on her shoulders.

There are a few unsavoury characters but mainly the characters in this story are just scrumptious. I loved each and every one of them. Each one stands out in their own right and I so wished I could vanish into those pages to meet them all in person as I wanted to have the relationship that Nell did with them.

The Runaway Children is a book that readers will treasure. It’s one of those reads that is timeless and will be enjoyed for many years to come. Mesmerizing, beautiful, sweet, funny, I just adored The Runaway Children and feel bereft at having now finished it. Without a doubt this is one book I could read again and again and I know I will love it even more than the last time I read it. Simply wonderful!

My thanks to Bookouture and Netgalley for an advanced readers copy of this book. All opinions are my own and not biased in anyway.

Goodreads rating 5/5 stars.

The Runaway Children is available to purchase from Amazon

Author Pic 2

About the author: 
 
Sandy Taylor grew up on a council estate near Brighton. There were no books in the house, so Sandy’s love of the written word was nurtured in the little local library. Leaving school at fifteen, Sandy worked in a series of factories before landing a job at Butlins in Minehead. This career change led her to becoming a singer, a stand up comic and eventually a playwright and novelist.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s