Divine Poison by AB Morgan @Bloodhoundbook @AliMorgan2304

51BXn05ji9L

Book Description:

Are you looking for a stunning new crime mystery full of suspense? Then you’ll love AB Morgan’s unmissable Divine Poison.

For a community psychiatric nurse, Monica Morris has an unhealthy interest in poison, and when, on impulse, she buys an antique Ship’s Doctor’s Cabinet with a set of leather-bound journals she becomes fascinated by the content.

A few days later, she discovers the body of her patient, Jan Collins, and although police assume suicide by overdose, Monica is not convinced.

When more unexplained deaths involving poisoning occur, Monica realises they are linked and so does DS Adams who is investigating. But how are they connected? And why?

When it becomes obvious that she’s unwittingly stepped into a trap set for someone else, Monica’s career, her own sanity and her life are placed at risk. But where can she turn to for help?

AB Morgan is the author of the acclaimed psychological thriller A Justifiable Madness. Divine Poison will appeal to fans of authors like LJ Ross, Joy Ellis, Faith Martin and Ed James  

My Thoughts:

Monica is one of those people who once their interest is piqued, they become like a dog with a bone and won’t let things go. This is what happens when she finds her patient, Jan, dead. Obviously over the time Monica as known Jan, she knows her better than the police ever could and in her gut she knows there is more to her death than the police realise.

The book reminded me a bit of the Jessica Fletcher, Murder She Wrote programmes. A main character taking it upon themselves to solve the crime and getting themselves into some sticky situations in the meantime, it’s ideal for people who love a good who dunnit.

I really enjoyed the whole storyline of the actual crime, of which I won’t go into so it doesn’t spoil it for other readers. Whilst not a fast paced read, this will certainly have you turning the pages to see the mystery start to unravel and it certainly didn’t disappoint.

Divine Poison is the perfect read for a well thought out and intriguing mystery that will have you on tender hooks right up until the very last page.

My thanks to Bloodhound Books for an advanced readers copy of this book. All opinions are my own and not biased in anyway.

Goodreads rating 4/5 stars.

Divine Poison is available to purchase from Amazon. (Please note that the Amazon link used is an affiliate link)

unnamed.png

Author Bio:
 

Alison Morgan started writing a couple of years ago to address that niggling question: could she write a book? The answer was a simple yes. She’s had to retire from the NHS a little earlier than planned, but has discovered a new passion. Writing. Her debut novel, A Justifiable Madness, was published by Bloodhound Books in September 2017 attracting great reviews for its refreshing premise and dark humour. With two further novels being published at the beginning of 2018, it seems Alison has a promising future as an author. Divine Poison is the second novel to feature Monica Morris, a mental health nurse, as the main protagonist in this crime mystery, but there are no plans for a series. Alison’s third suspense novel, The Camera Lies, steps away from the field of nursing and into the world of real crime documentary films.

Alison lives with her husband Andy and their dog Sadie, in a small village north of Bedford. She’s not the type to let life get in the way of adventure and so, always up for the next challenge, she decided to have a proper midlife crisis and learn to ride a motorbike. In August she passed, first time. Her husband was impressed until she swung her leg over his prized Triumph and roared off with a big grin on her face. ‘Research for the next book,’ she cried. The fourth book is under construction and does indeed feature motorbikes.

Links:
 

Alison Morgan: writes under the name AB Morgan

www.abmorgan.co.uk

Email          alison@abmorgan.co.uk

Facebook  @ABMorganwriter

Twitter       @AliMorgan2304

1 thought on “Divine Poison by AB Morgan @Bloodhoundbook @AliMorgan2304”

  1. This one looks fantastic! As a nurse, I love books where nurses become sleuths. Most people don’t realize that good nurses develop these qualities naturally – often charged with getting to the bottom of things physical, emotional, and social as part of their everyday work. Thankfully these extreme types of scenarios don’t play out every day but I have no doubt that she would be able to figure out how to exonerate herself. Great review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s