A Map of the Dark by Karen Ellis #BlogTour @HodderPublicity

51Qre42kssL

Book Description:

A girl missing
A woman, searching
A killer, planning…

A thrilling new FBI series for fans of Tess Gerritsen and Karin Slaughter.

FBI Agent Elsa Myers finds missing people.
She knows how it feels to be lost…

Though her father lies dying in a hospital north of New York City, Elsa cannot refuse a call for help. A teenage girl has gone missing from Forest Hills, Queens, and during the critical first hours of the case, a series of false leads hides the fact that she did not go willingly.

With each passing hour, as the hunt for Ruby deepens into a search for a man who may have been killing for years, the case starts to get underneath Elsa’s skin. Everything she has buried – her fraught relationship with her sister and niece, her self-destructive past, her mother’s death – threatens to resurface, with devastating consequences.

In order to save the missing girl, she may have to lose herself…and return to the darkness she’s been hiding from for years.

My Thoughts:

This is the first book in a new series featuring FBI Agent Elsa Myers.

The story flicks between modern day as well as to Elsa’s past and the troubled relationship that Elsa has with her mother. I have to admit, it does make for some uncomfortable reading and my heart really went out to Elsa as she is quite a troubled soul.

I loved the balance of getting to know who Elsa is and about her past as well as the case she finds herself working on. It is very well laid out so that we really get a feel for Elsa and exactly who she is as well as how she works. The fact that the story is set over so many days really gives an urgency in reading it. I wanted to know if they were going to find Ruby alive and well and to who was behind taking her. It certainly didn’t disappoint.

A Map of the Dark is a great start to a new crime series. It is a compelling read that has left me looking forward to future books in the series. A must read for crime fiction lovers.

My thanks to Hodder & Stoughton for an advanced readers copy of this book. All opinions are my own and not biased in anyway.

Goodreads rating 4/5 stars.

A Map of the Dark is available to purchase from Amazon(Please note that the Amazon link used is an affiliate link)

Blog Tour Poster RGB.JPG

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s