The Confession by Jo Spain #BlogTour @SpainJoanne @QuercusBooks

51cWQ+TK9mL._SY346_

Book Description:

WHAT IF THE CONFESSION WAS JUST THE BEGINNING…?

FIND OUT WHO DID IT ON THE VERY FIRST PAGEON THE LAST PAGE, FIND OUT WHY.

Late one night a man walks into the luxurious home of disgraced banker Harry McNamara and his wife Julie. The man launches an unspeakably brutal attack on Harry as a horror-struck Julie watches, frozen by fear.

Just an hour later the attacker, JP Carney, has handed himself in to the police. He confesses to beating Harry to death, but JP claims that the assault was not premeditated and that he didn’t know the identity of his victim. With a man as notorious as Harry McNamara, the detectives cannot help wondering, was this really a random act of violence or is it linked to one of Harry’s many sins: corruption, greed, betrayal?

This gripping psychological thriller will have you questioning, who – of Harry, Julie and JP – is really the guilty one? And is Carney’s surrender driven by a guilty conscience or is his confession a calculated move in a deadly game?

THE MOST GRIPPING PSYCHOLOGICAL THRILLER OF 2018: PERFECT FOR FANS OF HE SAID, SHE SAID AND THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR.

My Thoughts:

As soon as I read the description of this book I knew I had to read it. It sounded to good to miss and I wasn’t wrong.

The beginning and ending has to be the best parts of the book. Don’t get me wrong the rest is good to but it’s very rare that the very first page of a book leaves me reeling and desperate to carry on reading, but The Confession does just that.

I was as desperate as Julie and the police as to why a stranger would just walk into someones home and brutally murder someone when they seemingly have no connection or reasoning to do it.

The story flicks between JP, Alice and Julie so that we get a mixture of past and present leading up to the big question, why?

Harry had it all. He was good looking, rich and a lovely wife. As we get to find out more about him though, he wasn’t that nice a man. I could understand why Julie loved him and I think in his own way harry loved her also very much but it’s a bit of a toxic relationship. Julie was certainly an interesting character also. She is a bit like an onion where we get to see different layers of her the further into the story we get. I certainly had a lot of empathy for her.

Alice I loved. She is so unlike any typical detectives you read in a crime novel but she is extremely clever and she reminded me slightly of Columbo where people write her off but she is a lot more intelligent than they think.

The Confession is without a doubt going to be a much talked about book and I predict a lot of peoples top read of 2018. From the brilliant start to the surprising ending, this really is one book that fans of psychological thrillers do not want to miss out on.

My thanks to Netgalley and Quercus books for an advanced readers copy of this book. All opinions are my own and not biased in anyway.

Goodreads rating 4/5 stars.

The Confession is available to purchase from Amazon(Please note that the Amazon link used is an affiliate link)

Blog Tour poster 6

 

About Sarah Hardyhttps://bytheletterbookreviews.wordpress.comI'm Sarah, I'm self employed and in my spare time I love to read. Due to my love of reading I thought I would set up a blog to share with people my thoughts on the books i've read.

2 thoughts on “The Confession by Jo Spain #BlogTour @SpainJoanne @QuercusBooks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s