Killer Lies by Chris Collett #BlogTour @crime_crow @JoffeBooks

I am delighted to be part of the blog tour for Killer Lies by Chris Collett today. For my stop I have an extract from the book to share with you all. Enjoy!

Killer lies cover JPG

Book Description:

Do you love gripping police procedurals with great characters? 

Discover Detective Tom Mariner in this critically acclaimed series.

‘Collett is a wonderful writer, subtle, clever, strong on atmosphere and character.’ Yorkshire Post

Just when DI Tom Mariner seems to be settling down with his new girlfriend . . . everything kicks off.

First, a badly decomposed body of a young woman is found in a Birmingham sewer. The police can’t identify her and dub her “Madeleine.” 

Then an important politician and his wife are shot on an isolated road.

And finally, a bomb explosion in the busy city kills 5 people, causing chaos and panic.

Can Detective Mariner and his team get to the bottom of crimes that will come very close to home for his team.
Mariner will need to bend the rules and risk everything to get to the truth. And in a thrilling conclusion, his own life will be at risk.

Discover an absorbing crime mystery full of stunning twists and turns.

Perfect for fans of Peter James, Ian Rankin and Peter Robinson. This is the third book in the DI MARINER SERIES, more books coming soon!

THE SETTING
Birmingham is a city of stark contrasts with a rich cultural and historical heritage. Playing a key role in the industrial revolution, it helped shape the nation’s manufacturing industry

But with its many green spaces, Birmingham also borders on the beautiful countryside of Worcestershire and Warwickshire, is just a few miles from Stratford on Avon and a short drive from the wild country of mid-Wales.

Birmingham’s population is large and ethnically diverse, and while urban regeneration has forged a modern and culturally vibrant city, the decaying remnants of the industrial past and 1960s concrete jungle give it a unique and gritty character; the dark underbelly policed by DI Tom Mariner and his team.

THE DETECTIVE
Detective Inspector Tom Mariner is, on the surface, an average dedicated policeman, but his experiences as a younger man have given him an insight into life on the dark side, and a clear sense of right and wrong. Mariner has little interest in material things. He lives in a modest canal-side cottage, enjoys the occasional (real) beer and game of dominoes and drives an old car. He is most at home in the outdoors, with an OS map and a compass, and in times of crisis, will take off and walk for miles in any weather.

THIS IS A REVISED EDITION OF A BOOK FIRST PUBLISHED AS “WRITTEN IN BLOOD.”

BLOG TOUR BANNER - Killer Lies

Extract:

In the dark the SOCO almost missed it. The arc lights that had been brought in were trained on the man and woman in the rear passenger seat of the limousine, their posture so natural they could have been calmly waiting for their driver to return so that they could continue their journey. As long as you didn’t look at their faces and the identical black holes that had ripped apart each forehead, spraying grey fleshy pebble-dashing across the rear window behind them. It was an efficient job. A high velocity weapon fired at point-blank range, one shot apiece. The victims would have had mere seconds to grasp what was happening. And the assassin had, on first examination, left nothing behind; no stray prints, hairs or fibres evident at this stage, though the car would get a more comprehensive going-over once it was back at the lab. Fortunately the farmer who’d discovered the gruesome scene had seen enough detective shows to know not to touch anything. Colleagues working around the third dead body, sprawled on the road beside the gaping trunk, were having more luck. Underneath the boot lining in the spare wheel cavity they’d found traces of a white powdery residue.

Edging out of the vehicle the SOCO made one last sweep with his Maglite and caught a momentary glimpse of something . . . something that had been veiled by the intense glare of the spotlights. Twenty-five semi-transparent letters scribed on the glass of the passenger window in a reddish-brown hue. The author had clearly made use of the raw materials at hand. Every third letter was bolder than the others, the index finger dipped into its bloody inkwell at even intervals until the message was complete.

‘Ma’am,’ the SOCO ducked his head out and addressed the woman waiting patiently beside the car in the frigid air. ‘They’ve left us a message.’

DCI Caroline Griffin stepped forward, removing her gloved hands from the pockets of her long wool coat. She leaned into the car as the SOCO moved his beam along the communication: Vengeance is mine. I will repay.

‘Not particularly subtle,’ she remarked.

‘Or original,’ added the SOCO.

 

Chris Collett - author pic

Author Bio
Chris Collett grew up in a Norfolk seaside town where she worked in a boarding house (now defunct) a local bakery (closed down) and a crisp factory (razed to the ground). Graduating in Liverpool, Chris has since taught children and adults with varying degrees of learning disability, including autism. She is now a university lecturer, with two grown up children, and lives in Birmingham; DI Tom Mariner’s ‘patch’. She has published short stories, teaches creative and crime writing and is a manuscript assessor for the Crime Writers Association.

The first five DI Tom Mariner books will be released in revised editions by Joffe Books in 2017/2018.

Links
Website:  www.chriscollettcrime.co.uk
Twitter: @crime_crow

 

About Sarah Hardyhttps://bytheletterbookreviews.wordpress.comI'm Sarah, I'm self employed and in my spare time I love to read. Due to my love of reading I thought I would set up a blog to share with people my thoughts on the books i've read.

One thought on “Killer Lies by Chris Collett #BlogTour @crime_crow @JoffeBooks

  1. Pingback: Books n All Book Promotions

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s