Locked In by GB Williams @Bloodhoundbook @GailBWilliams

51QP-VUgrCL

Book Description:

Ariadne Teddington is having a bad day.  Then she finds herself staring down the barrel of a gun.

Stuck in a bank robbery turned hostage situation, Ariadne keeps her head down and her mouth shut; because if there is one thing criminals hate more than the police it’s prison guards. 

Trapped with a child, a policeman, and a robber on the edge, Ariadne desperately searches for a way out for them.

Can they all escape unharmed?

And when everyone is locked in, will anyone get out alive?

Also available in The Locked Trilogy:

Locked Up

Locked in is a hard-boiled police thriller that will have you gripped from page 1. It will appeal to fans of authors like Rachel Abbott, Ed James, Joy Ellis and Angela Marsons.

My Thoughts:

Locked In is the second book in the Locked series. If you have read Locked Up, the first book in the series, you will remember the main character Ariadne. Personally I would suggest reading in order if possible.

Ariadne does not bank on her day turning out to be very different from the one she had planned. We all see in the news about robberies but how many of us have ever actually been involved in one? Well that is exactly what happens to Ariadne. In a way, Ariadne being a prison officer, gives her some sort of knowledge as to what to do and expect. It doesn’t stop her from being scared for her life though.

The book is pretty much set over the course of a day and the tension mounts through out. My heart was in my mouth plenty of times whilst reading this book and I really had no clue how things were going to end. Ariadne is very much stuck in the middle being the go between on the phone to the police and relaying messages to the robbers and it truly makes for some gripping reading.

Locked In had me hooked from the start. With some unexpected twists and turns the author ensures she takes the reader on an exhilarating roller coaster of a ride. I have no idea what the author has in store for Ariadne next but I certainly can’t wait!

My thanks to Bloodhound Books for an advanced readers copy of this book. All opinions are my own and not biased in anyway.

Goodreads rating 4/5 stars.

Locked In is available to purchase from Amazon. (Please note that link used is an affiliate link.)

Colour Portrait 10

Author Bio:

After being made redundant in 2012, GB started taking her life-long passion for writing
more seriously and looking to sell her work. Specialising in complex, fast-paced crime novels. Her debut novel, Locked Up, was released in September 2017, Locked In follows in February 2018, and Locked Down in September 2018.

 

GB was shortlisted for the 2014 CWA Margery Allingham Short Story Competition with
the story Last Shakes, now available in Last Cut Casebook. She is also a feature writer and occasional comic book reviewer. Crime novels are her stock in trade, but she has had success with short stories in various genres including steampunk, horror, erotica and general fiction.

 

With bills to pay, she’s back working as a systems architect by day, a freelance
fiction editor and keen writer of an evening and weekend. GB really needs to
learn to sleep.

 

Originally from Kent, GB moved to South Wales as a supposed first step on a year around
the world.  Then she met a guy.  Kept the guy, kissed the travel goodbye. Knowing that the best way to travel is by book anyway, she has always read, always written. GB now has two grown-up children, the world’s most imperious cat, a house full of books and a hard drive full of manuscripts (though some will never be allowed out of a locked basement).

Links:

Twitter:       @GailBWilliams

Facebook:  @GBWilliamsCrimeWriter

Blog:           thewriteroute.wordpress.com

Website:     www.gailbwilliams.co.uk

About Sarah Hardyhttps://bytheletterbookreviews.wordpress.comI'm Sarah, I'm self employed and in my spare time I love to read. Due to my love of reading I thought I would set up a blog to share with people my thoughts on the books i've read.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s