Cut The Threads by Robin Roughley #BlogBlitz @Bloodhoundbook @RobRoughley

51olEnOn3bL

Book Description:

When the mutilated remains of local hard man, Tam Whitlow, are found tied to a chair, in a dilapidated building, Marnie Hammond and the team believe the murder could be gang-related.

Whitlow worked for Jimmy Rae, a man who hides behind the facade of local businessman but whose empire has been built on fear and extortion. However, it appears that someone is trying to take over from Rae, someone who is willing to commit horrific killings to achieve their goal.

Meanwhile, Tom Conway is looking for his oldest friend, John Hall, who is missing along with his young daughter, Rowan.  As Conway starts to ask questions he finds himself in grave danger.

Is there a link between the missing man and the spate of murders?

Will Tom or Marnie discover the truth before it is too late?

As the body count rises, Marnie realises that there is someone in the shadows, someone who will never rest until they have had their revenge.

Robin Roughley is the best-selling author of the DS Lasser series. This is the second book in his thrilling DS Marnie Hammond Series, it will appeal to fans of authors like Adam Croft, Mark Edwards and Robert Bryndza.

Also available in the DS Marnie Hammond Series:

Keep You Near

B L O G B L I T Z (1).png

My Thoughts:

Cut The Threads is the second book in the DS Marnie Hammond series. I highly recommend reading Keep You Near prior to starting this one. There is a lot of background to do with Marnie and her missing sister that you would benefit from knowing before hand.

I absolutely loved Keep You Near. It is very rare that I would give all the stars for the first book in a series due to their usually being a lot of background and getting to know the main character but it had me gripped from the off. I did wonder if Cut The Threads could meet the expectations I had for it. I am very pleased it not only met them but smashed them into tiny pieces!

This is one dark and gritty read with a fair bit of violence in it. It is very much needed though to show what it is like in the criminal world of which Jimmy Rae is involved in. There was plenty of OMG and jaw dropping moments at some scenes which both horrified yet thrilled me.

Tom’s character really made for some emotional reading. To start with I wasn’t too sure about him but the further into the story I got, I had such admiration of which I don’t think I was the only one.

Cut The Threads is one thrilling roller coaster ride of a read. The author had me very much kept in the dark as to who was behind the killings and boy, when it all starts to come to light, I could hardly contain myself. A crime read that starts off with a bang and just gets better and better until the mind blowing finale!

My thanks to Bloodhound Books and NetGalley for an advanced readers copy of this book. All opinions are my own and not biased in anyway.

Goodreads rating 5/5 stars.

Cut The Threads is available to purchase from Amazon. (Please note that link used is an affiliate link)

LOB

Author Bio:

Robin Roughley hails from the town of Wigan in the North-West of England and is the author of the hugely popular DS Lasser crime series.

On March 9th 2017, Rob released the first book in the  DS Marnie Hammond series, Keep You Near, published by Bloodhound.  DS Marnie Hammond hails from Lancashire, in the fictional town of Kirkhead.  Like all good detectives, Marnie comes with her own unique set of crime-solving skills.

When not writing, which amounts to roughly two days a year, he can be found walking the canal towpaths of Wigan, sorting out plot lines and looking for ideas, with an assortment of dogs in tow.

So, next time you see a shaven-headed, middle-aged man wandering about, scratching his head, looking bewildered and taking random pictures it is Rob hoping for divine inspiration.

If you like your crime to be hard hitting and gritty with an assortment of characters that feel like friends then feel free to jump in at the deep end.

Links:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Robin-Roughley/e/B00CQ15GG4

Twitter https://twitter.com/RobRoughley

Facebook https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=facebook+robin+roughley&oq=facebook+robin+rou&aqs=chrome.0.0j69i57j0l4.11431j0j8&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8

https://www.robinroughley.com/

About Sarah Hardyhttps://bytheletterbookreviews.wordpress.comI'm Sarah, I'm self employed and in my spare time I love to read. Due to my love of reading I thought I would set up a blog to share with people my thoughts on the books i've read.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s