Wartime Brides and Wedding Cakes by Amy Miller #BlogTour @bookouture @AmyBratley1

5150uoMeHcL

Book Description:

January 1941: As Charlie Barton tiptoes silently out of the house one cold winter morning to go off and fight for his country, his wife Audrey is left to run the family bakery on her own.

Times are tougher than ever, but at the Barton Bakery in Bournemouth, Audrey is determined as always to serve the town with love, loaves and cakes, even as the town is reeling from the struggles of the Blitz.

Audrey’s brother William has returned from battle with serious wounds. His fiancé Elsie is waiting for wedding bells, but William is a changed man, and will her hopes be in vain?

Bakery helper Maggie has her heart set on dashing officer George. But will George still want to marry her when he discovers the truth about her family?

And Lily, Audrey’s stepsister, is struggling to raise her illegitimate baby and facing judgement from many in the town. The man who broke her heart returns with an offer, and Lily faces a hard decision about where her future lies.

When disaster strikes the bakery, Audrey fears that everything she has worked for may be ruined. With her shop threatened and her family in turmoil, can she fight to save everything she holds dear?

Wartime Brides and Wedding Cakes is a romantic and heart-warming tale of cakes and confetti, perfect for fans of Sheila Newberry, Nadine Dorries and Ellie Dean.

Wartime Bride and Wedding Cakes - Blog Tour.jpeg

My Thoughts:

This is the second book in the Wartime Bakery saga and would definitely read Heartaches and Christmas cakes which is the first to familiarise yourself with the characters.

I adored the first book in the series and couldn’t wait to catch up with the characters again as the author really draws you in so that what happens to the characters feels like it is happening to you or a very close friend at least.

Audrey is as strong and determined as ever. No matter what life throws at her she really takes it all in her stride. The parts to do with her and Mary were so emotional and found myself a blubbering wreck quite a few times. Mary is such an adorable little girl that has had far to much heartbreak in her life for one so young and my heart was literally breaking.

As with the first book, you really get a sense of the loss and devastation that occurred during the war. Not just with just losing family members but the businesses and how it affected them. I really loved how people pulled together though and the whole community spirit at times made me feel like my heart would burst with pride.

Wartime Brides and Wedding Cakes is such a bitter sweet read. It is heartwarming and emotional and a book that I didn’t put down until I turned the last page. I couldn’t help myself but devour this gorgeous story in one go, only problem is I now have to wait for the next one.

My thanks to Bookouture and NetGalley for an advanced readers copy of this book. All opinions are my own and not biased in anyway.

Goodreads rating 5/5 stars. 

Wartime Brides and Wedding Cakes is available to purchase from Amazon. (Please note that link used is an affiliate link)

Amy Miller author pic 500

About the author: 
 
Amy Miller lives in Dorset with her husband and two children. New to saga, she has previously written women’s fiction under a different name.
 
Amy is on Twitter @AmyBratley1
About Sarah Hardyhttps://bytheletterbookreviews.wordpress.comI'm Sarah, I'm self employed and in my spare time I love to read. Due to my love of reading I thought I would set up a blog to share with people my thoughts on the books i've read.

One thought on “Wartime Brides and Wedding Cakes by Amy Miller #BlogTour @bookouture @AmyBratley1

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s