The Guilty Ones by Joy Ellis #BlogTour @JoffeBooks #GuestPost

Guilty Ones cover jpg

THE GUILTY ONES by Joy Ellis

From #1 best-selling author Joy Ellis, a mystery full of stunning twists and turns.

The most difficult case of Detective Jackman’s life. Who are the guilty ones and is anyone really innocent?

Jackman’s sister-in-law Sarah disappears to London and throws herself into the river. What drove her to this? She was a woman with a seemingly happy home life and two beloved sons.

DI Jackman and DI Evans dig into Sarah’s life. And Jackman realises he knew almost nothing about his sister-in-law’s past.

Then, they discover a woman in a neighbouring village died in similar circumstances.

What is the connection to a convicted murderer whose family are convinced he is innocent? Who is really pulling the strings?

DI Jackman and DS Evans of the Fenland police face a battle against their most dangerous and deadly adversary. And in a case so close to home can Jackman keep his feelings under control?

Full of twists and turns, this is a crime mystery that will keep you turning the pages until the thrilling ending. Set in the atmospheric Lincolnshire Fens, whose isolated villages hide many dark secrets.

Perfect for fans of Rachel Abbott, Sarah A. Denzil, Robert Bryndza, Mel Sherratt, Angela Marsons, Colin Dexter, or Ruth Rendell.

THE DETECTIVES
DI Jackman leads the investigation. He is extremely smart and has a knack for bringing out the best in his diverse team. DS Marie Evans is haunted by the loss of her husband in a motorbike accident. She is fiercely loyal to her friends and colleagues.

The Guilty Ones is available to purchase from Amazon. (Please note that link used is an affiliate link)

BLOG TOUR BANNER - The Guilty Ones.png

Guest Post:

Being a crime writer means looking at humanity, and inhumanity, at great depth. It means constantly asking “Why? Why did he, or she, do that?” And then, “How could that possibly happen?”

It didn’t take years of research to discover that in real life, people are capable of some indescribably terrible acts. You can then read the works of some of the cleverest psychologists and criminologists, and believe me, I have! Apart from fascinating studies and papers on the Internet, I have a whole library of volumes that I can barely lift from the shelf they are so heavy! Everyone offers theories and concepts as to why people behave in the way they do, but you soon realise that at grass root level, every single case is different.

The Guilty Ones came about from a study into manipulation. In my mind, the work of a master manipulator is one of the most evil and terrifying of crimes to give to your stalwart detectives. It always offers up questions, but then it does in real life. A cunning manipulator does not always start by being an abusive bully, but can whisper subtle messages, disguised as love or solicitude. A trusting soul can be fooled so easily. It’s easy to think, “I’d never fall for that!” or “How can she still say she loves him?” but how many of us have been taken in either by a silver tongue, or by a simple belief that someone is not really bad at heart… when sadly, they were.

So, we take the manipulator one step further, and we step into the realms of the truly evil, and where all things are possible.

I also took a chance with The Guilty Ones, because I wanted DI Jackman to have a nemesis, and to do that, it necessitates a cliff-hanger to be able to move forward into the next novel. Some readers love this. Others say that by the time they get to read the next novel, they have forgotten the back story. Whereas I appreciate this, I think if the antagonist is memorable enough, you will not forget him, or what he has done. I just hope I have achieved this!

Thank you so much for taking the time to read both this, and The Guilty Ones. Your reviews and your thoughts are so much appreciated, and they are all taken on board, because without them, we could never move forward into more, hopefully, interesting and enjoyable books.

Thank you again, Joy.

Joy+and+the+boys+039+jpg.jpg

UK #1 Best Seller with THEIR LOST DAUGHTERS and THE FOURTH FRIEND

700,000 books sold and rising!

“I was born in Kent but spent most of my working life in London and Surrey. I was an apprentice florist to Constance Spry Ltd, a prestigious Mayfair shop that throughout the sixties and seventies teemed with both royalty and ‘real’ celebrities. What an eye-opener for a working-class kid from the Garden of England! I swore then, probably whilst I was scrubbing the floor or making the tea, that I would have a shop of my own one day. It took until the early eighties, but I did it. Sadly the recession wiped us out, and I embarked on a series of weird and wonderful jobs; the last one being a bookshop manager. Surrounded by books all day, getting to order whatever you liked, and being paid for it! Oh bliss!

And now I live in a village in the Lincolnshire Fens with my partner, Jacqueline, and our two second generation Springer spaniels. I had been writing mysteries for years but never had the time to take it seriously. Now I can, and as my partner is a highly decorated retired police officer; my choice of genre was suddenly clear. I have set my crime thrillers here in the misty fens because I sincerely love the remoteness and airy beauty of the marshlands. This area is steeped in superstitions and lends itself so well to murder!”

1 thought on “The Guilty Ones by Joy Ellis #BlogTour @JoffeBooks #GuestPost”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s