The Undercover Mother by Emma Robinson @bookouture @emmarobinsonuk

51KStOmJboL._SY346_.jpg

Book Description:

Jenny has too much on her plate: literally – she’s only expecting one child but she’s eating for at least three. Not to mention trying to juggle her nightmare boss, a know-it-all sister, and an infuriatingly laid-back husband. 

She used to be known for her ‘Single Girl About Town’ column. But when her boss gives her job to a younger colleague, Jenny panics and proposes she blogs instead about being a clueless new mum. Surely people will find her new friendship group fascinating? (Even if the only thing they seem to have in common is that they all had sex around the same time 9 months ago…)

And if her readers aren’t quite hooked yet, maybe Jenny will just have to be more liberal with the truth. After all, none of the other mums will read it… will they? 

The Undercover Mother is a hilarious parenting page-turner that will make you laugh, cry and want to crack open the gin. Perfect for fans of Why Mummy Drinks and The Bad Mother’s Diary.

The Undercover Mother - Blog Tour

My Thoughts:

This is the first book I have read by the author and certainly won’t be the last. Even though it has sadly been quite a few, okay, a lot of years since my teens were babies, the book had memories flooding back of what it was like to be a new mother.

Each chapter starts off with a post by the undercover mother which had me smiling whilst nodding in agreement. Even though the story focuses on Jenny, the undercover mother, we do get to know her new friends better throughout who all held my interest and I wanted to know more about them.

All the women are very different. You can see some tension between some as they probably are not best suited as friends but that’s what makes this story work so well. The relationship between the women was so interesting and I couldn’t wait to find out more about them. Find out more you do and it makes for some emotional, shocking and fun reading.

I loved the battle of Jenny trying to juggle her emotions when it comes to her work as well as that new mother guilt of not being able to bear to leave them with anyone else. For one’s so little, children certainly make a huge impact and it is great to read of others going through the exact same struggles you did.

The Undercover Mother was so much more than just a story about motherhood. It deals with a lot of grown up topics as well as relationships and friendships. It will certainly hold some surprises in there for readers. An entertaining and enjoyable read by an author that I will certainly be looking out for in the future.

My thanks to Bookouture and NetGalley for an advanced readers copy of this book. All opinions are my own and not biased in anyway.

Goodreads rating 4/5 stars.

The Undercover Mother is available to purchase from Amazon. (Please note that link used is an affiliate link)

Emma

About the author: 
Emma Robinson thinks of herself as one of the ‘Bridget Jones generation’ – who are now grown up and having children – and writes novels for women who feel the same.

She also has a blog, Motherhood for Slackers, which takes a humorous look at parenthood, and includes poems such as ‘Dear Teacher’ about her son starting school which has been shared around the world. Emma is an English teacher and lives in Essex with a patient husband and two children who are an endless source of material.

3 thoughts on “The Undercover Mother by Emma Robinson @bookouture @emmarobinsonuk”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s