The Bookshop on Rosemary Lane by Ellen Berry

51VNZ-6MFjL._SX324_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Book Description:

Take a trip to the Yorkshire village of Burley Bridge, where a very special little cookbook shop is about to open its doors…

In the beginning…

Kitty Cartwright has always solved her problems in the kitchen. Her cookbooks are her life, and there isn’t an issue that ‘Cooking with Aspic’ can’t fix. Her only wish is that she had a book entitled ‘Rustling Up Dinner When Your Husband Has Left You’.

Forty years later…

On Rosemary Lane, Della Cartwright plans to open a very special little bookshop. Not knowing what to do with the hundreds of cookbooks her mother left her, she now wants to share their recipes with the world – and no amount of aspic will stand in her way.

But with her family convinced it’s a hare-brained scheme, Della starts to wonder if she’s made a terrible decision. One thing’s for sure: she’s about to find out…

Lose yourself in Della’s world of food, family and friends. The perfect read for fans of Trisha Ashley and Carole Matthews.

My Thoughts:

Being a huge book lover, this book instantly appealed with it having bookshop in the title. What turned out to be quite different is that the books in question are cookbooks.

The death of Della’s mum brings a lot of change for Della. Cooking and recipes was a big part of Kitty’s life so Della can’t bare to get rid of all the wonderful cook books, which there is an awful lot more than any average person would have. All her family think she is mad when she decides to open a book shop solely selling cook books.

I really liked the idea of a shop solely selling cook books. We all have them but I loved that these had sentimental value to them also. I was hoping to be drooling at the mouth at the succulent thought of meals and food that would be mentioned through out but sadly there wasn’t really any. Probably my fault for assuming there would be with the mention of cookbooks.

This is very much a story about moving on and taking chances. All that happens in Della’s life in the aftermath of her mum’s death enforces for me that she is doing the right thing. Too many of us settle for things and it was nice to see someone go out and grab life and take risks.

Overall The Bookshop on Rosemary Lane is a light hearted and enjoyable read. Set in an idyllic location, it certainly had a certain amount of appeal.

The Bookshop on Rosemary Lane is available to purchase from Amazon. (Please note that link used is an affiliate link)

3 thoughts on “The Bookshop on Rosemary Lane by Ellen Berry”

  1. The ‘bookshop’ in the title made me curious too! And I agree with you! Sometimes (or even most of the times) taking a risk is the best course of action! Gonna add this book to my neverending TBR! Thanks for the lovely review! 🙂

    -Anky @Anky’s Book Bubble

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s