Pretty Ugly Lies by Pamela Crane @Bloodhoundbook

Pamela Crane - Pretty Ugly Lies_cover_3

Book Description:

What causes a woman to murder her whole family?

Jo’s idyllic life would make most people jealous. Until one day her daughter is abducted and the only way to find her is to unravel her dark past.

Ellie is a devoted wife… until she discovers the pain of betrayal. Now vengeance is all she can think about.

Party-girl Shayla knows how to hide her demons. But when she’s confronted with a life-shattering choice, it will cost her everything.

June knows suffering intimately, though the smile she wears keeps it hidden.

Soon the lives of these four women intersect and one of them is about to snap…

From USA TODAY best-selling author Pamela Crane comes “a thought-provoking domestic noir novel perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and B.A. Paris … A chilling look at the secrets mothers will hide for the sake of their families, and the gruesome reality of what can break an everyday woman.”

My Thoughts:

The story flicks between the four woman so we get an insight into each of their lives. Each woman is quite different so was interesting trying to work out how the whole story line was going to pan out.

From the very first page the author ensured they had me hooked. How could any woman kill their children, never mind their man. Those first few pages though do make you reflect on your own family life and the relationship we have with our husband and children and how we can take each other for granted.

If anything this story goes to show what goes on behind closed doors and also how well we really know people. It actually gives you a lot of food for thought and I think these women’s lives will have an impact on the reader.

Pretty Ugly Lies is a gripping and thought provoking read. I think it will make many of us feel normal in how we think about our own family life. The blurb suggests that readers who have enjoyed Laine Moriarty’s books would enjoy this book and I whole heartedly agree. A domestic noir story that readers certainly do not want to miss.

My thanks to Bloodhound Books and NetGalley for an advanced readers copy of this book. All opinions are my own and not biased in anyway.

Pretty Ugly Lies is available to purchase from Amazon. (Please note that link used is an affiliate link).

Pamela_Crane

 

Author Profile:

Pamela Crane is a professional juggler. Not the type of juggler who can toss flaming torches in the air, but a juggler of four kids, a writing addiction, a horse rescuer, and a book editor by trade. She lives on the edge (ask her Arabian horse about that—he’ll tell you all about their wild adventures while trying to train him) and she writes on the edge. Writing murder mysteries is her escape from the real world of dirty diapers and cleaning horse stalls, and she bases her characters on real people, so be warned! She is a USA Today best-selling author of several award-winning thrillers, which you can find on her website at www.pamelacrane.com.

Author links:

http://www.pamelacrane.com

https://www.facebook.com/Author.Pamela.Crane

https://www.goodreads.com/goodreadscompamela_crane

 

1 thought on “Pretty Ugly Lies by Pamela Crane @Bloodhoundbook”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s