The Little Orphan Girl by Sandy Taylor @bookouture @SandyTaylorAuth

51gTtu5WcfL

Book Description:

For readers of Orphan Train and The Throwaway Children, this unforgettable story of one little Irish girl’s journey to find love, friendship and family will stay in your heart long after the final page…

Ireland, 1901: For as long as six-year-old Cissy Ryan can remember, she has been a workhouse girl. Living amongst the other orphan boys and girls, dreaming of a family that might come and choose her for their own.

But the day her real mammy finally comes to claim her is not how Cissy imagined. An unfamiliar woman takes her to a tumbledown cottage in the rural Irish countryside to meet her gruff granddaddy. Settling into the isolated and poverty-stricken village is tough. But Cissy’s blossoming friendship with Colm Doyle and his horse Blue show Cissy the kindness and laughter is possible, even in the hardest of times.

As Cissy grows up, she finds that the world around her is ever changing. When she goes to work at prestigious Bretton Hall, she begins to realise that not everyone has an honest heart…

In one moment, Cissy’s life is turned upside down and she finds herself on a boat to England, sailing away from all she holds dear. Will Cissy ever find her way back to Ireland and everything she knows? Or is there more heartbreak to come?

A sweeping, unputdownable page-turner of romance, tragedy and the true meaning of family. The Little Orphan Girl is guaranteed to melt your heart.

The Little Orphan Girl - Blog Tour

My Thoughts:

I fell in love with Cissy’s character as soon as we are introduced to her. I couldn’t imagine life in a work house, especially at such a young age. I have to admit to being slightly worried when her mammy shows up to take her home. Having never known her mammy, it’s obvious Cissy doesn’t know quite what to make of it all. I didn’t need to worry though as it isn’t long before we get to see this little family come together.

The story has a feel of Catherine Cookson about it which I loved. A fabulous rural setting where we get to see the differences in the working classes. I have to admit I am so glad I wasn’t brought up in that sort of era. It makes for fascinating reading though and the author transports the reader into Cissy’s world of working up at the big house and the hustle and bustle of the goings on and the workers. I could picture it all vividly in my mind.

There are lots of wonderful characters throughout this story. Colm being one, who a very young Cissy decides at a very young age that he is the man for her. I loved her innocence and sweetness and as I got to know Colm, I could easily understand the young girl’s crush.

The Little Orphan Girl is an enthralling read that I didn’t want to put down. I was so wrapped up in what was going on in Cissy’s world that I ended up reading the book in two sittings. The author takes her readers on an emotional journey with lots of highs and lows. Many a time I had to take a quick breather to compose myself before my emotions threatened to take over. A heart warming and beautifully written story that will have you hooked until the very last page.

My Thanks to Bookouture and NetGalley for an advanced readers copy of this book. All opinions are my own and not biased in anyway.

The Little Orphan Girl is available to purchase from Amazon. (Please note that link used is an affiliate link).

Author Pic 2

Author Bio:

Sandy Taylor grew up on a council estate near Brighton.

There were no books in the house, so Sandy’s love of the written word was

nurtured in the little local library.

Leaving school at fifteen, Sandy worked in a series of factories before landing a job at Butlins in Minehead.

This career change led her to becoming a singer, a stand-up comic and eventually a playwright and novelist.

Author Social Media Links:

Website: n/a

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SandyTaylorAuthor/

Twitter:  https://twitter.com/SandyTaylorAuth

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s