Nearly Dead by Conrad Jones @ConradJones

51I-YvQQTSL

Book Description:

The renovation of a remote farmhouse on the outskirts of Liverpool uncovers a chamber of horrors but the crimes are historical. DI Alec Ramsay must sift through the evidence to identify both the victims and the perpetrators, while trying to dismantle the dangerous drug gangs that plague the city. The prequel to The Child Taker, this book is a must for fans of the Alec Ramsay series.

My Thoughts:

The story mainly focuses on Charlie McGee who is a gang land boss and feared by many. He definitely isn’t a very nice man and there isn’t anything he wouldn’t stoop low enough to do. At times I wondered if he even had a heart!

We are introduced to a few of his minions who I had mixed feelings for. As much as I didn’t agree with the kind of work they were doing, to a certain extent you could understand how they had got themselves into it and now that they were there, there is no way out.

Having read a lot of the books in the series, the fact that this is a prequel means you really don’t have to have read the others in the series. Of course fans of the series are going to want to read it. Alec himself, doesn’t really come into the story until further into it and it did kind of feel like he was more in the back ground, which personally I would have liked him to have been more at the front but it doesn’t stop it from being a really entertaining read.

The nature of the story will certainly appeal to fans of Martina Cole and Casey Kelleher. It is very dark and gritty with some heart stopping moments. Without a doubt, Nearly Dead, is yet another guaranteed page turner from the author. One to keep you on the edge of your seat and that will not only shock and horrify, but thrill and excite.

Nearly Dead is available to purchase from Amazon. (Please note that link used is an affiliate link).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s