The Little Cottage On The Hill by Emma Davies @bookouture @EmDaviesAuthor

51ZqrXtY1nL

Book Description:

There’s blossom in the trees and daffodils as far as the eye can see. Maddie is looking forward to a fresh start in the countryside, but there’s just one little problem…

Following a scandal at her high-flying PR agency, twenty-six-year-old Maddie flees London to help promote what she thinks is going to be a luxurious holiday retreat in the countryside. Everything is riding on her making a success of this new job…

Yet when she arrives, Maddie is horrified to find a rundown old farm in a terrible state. The brooding and secretive owner, Seth, spent all his money on leasing the land when he fell in love with the beautiful, dishevelled farm cottages and the very romantic story behind them.

When Maddie discovers an old oil painting by the original owner’s wife, she unlocks the secret of the farm’s history and quickly realises she must start getting her hands dirty if this very special place is going to have any chance of survival. As she and Seth begin working together, the stunning view from the top of the hill is not the only thing that’s leaving her breathless…

After weeks of hard work the dream looks like it might become a reality, until a secret from Maddie’s past threatens to snatch it all away again. Can Maddie find a way to save the business and herself? Will she finally find a place to keep her heart within the crumbling walls of the little cottage on the hill?

Perfect for fans of Jenny Colgan, Lucy Diamond and Debbie Johnson who are looking to escape to the countryside and fall in love watching the seasons change.

My Thoughts:

The Little Cottage On The Hill is the first book in The Little Cottage Series. What a great start to a series as well. If like me you love seeing a building transformation then you will love this book. Don’t get me wrong the actual physical work on the farm is kept quite low key and focuses on the characters so we really get to know them better, but the parts to do with giving the barn and the cottages a make over had so many visions running through my head. I loved both Maddie’s and Seth’s ideas.

There is only a small cast of characters in the story and I enjoyed getting to know each one better. They are all really great, well apart from Agatha but the least said about her the better, even the cat I was totally taken with by the end of the story!

Whilst there is a hint of romance throughout the story, for me it was more about friendships and bonds as well as setting up what looks to be a fabulous series. There is so much potential for this series and I am now desperate to read the next book in the series.

The Little Cottage On The Hill is a fabulous start to a captivating series. The author totally drew me in and was enchanted by the wonderful setting and lovely characters. I totally lost myself into the story and didn’t want to come out of it. Such a great read.

The Little Cottage On The Hill is available to purchase from Amazon. (Please note that link used is an affiliate link).

3 thoughts on “The Little Cottage On The Hill by Emma Davies @bookouture @EmDaviesAuthor”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s