Trophies by David Evans @DavidEwriter @CarolineBookBit @OrchardViewBook

Trophies David Evans Book Cover

Book Description:

From the CWA Debut Dagger Shortlisted Novelist comes an extraordinary crime novel that everyone is raving about.

When DI Colin Strong interviews a suspect on suspicion of handling stolen goods he’s convinced he’s heard their voice before. Nearly 25 years ago the tape of Wearside Jack taunted West Yorkshire Police and his suspect fits the profile.

Then the body of a known burglar shows up and a mysterious metal case is discovered at the scene.

Strong turns to his close friend, journalist Bob Souter, and embarks on an awkward alliance to probe areas he is unable to explore.

As the murder suspects start to disappear Strong must discover just who the shadowy figure inciting fear and panic amongst those he encounters is.

Strong wants to bring a murderer to justice and Souter is hungry for a story.

Who will get to the truth first and can their friendship remain intact?

The Wakefield Series:

#1 Trophies
#2 Torment
#3 Talisman
#4 Tainted – coming 2018

Blog Tour Poster bk 1 TROPHIIES amended.png

My Thoughts:

I was actually lucky enough to read Torment which is the next in the series to this one first, I loved it that much that I headed straight off to Amazon to buy this one.

The author has cleverly written the story around a real life crime which really makes the story feel all that more real. Everyone has heard of The Yorkshire Ripper, and his crimes were very much frontline news and it is something that is still talked about even today, many years later. The fact that the story is all set in Yorkshire, mainly Leeds and Wakefield, brings it even more to home for me as it’s where I live.

The story features DI Colin Strong and journalist Bob Souter. Both men know each other from old and end up working together to solve the case. Both characters are likeable and it is nice to see the companionship that they have.

Trophies is a great introduction to a dynamic duo that shows how good the investigative skills of both journalists as well as the police are. Usually journalists and the police don’t get on so it’s nice to have a change from the norm and see them working along side each other nicely.

It is certainly an intriguing read that held my interest throughout and kept me guessing right up until the end. Great read and very much recommended.

Trophies is available to purchase from Amazon. (Please note that link used is an affiliate link).


David Evans is a Scots-born writer who found his true love as well as his inspiration for his detective series, in Wakefield. Having written all his life, in 2012 he decided to go for it – successfully as the next year, in 2013, he was shortlisted for the CWA Debut Dagger Award.

The Wakefield Series became an International Bestseller in June 2017 with success in Canada and Australia as well as the UK.

Early 2018 Disposal was published, the first book in the Tendring Series, a new detective series, set in north Essex in the 1970s.

Now, whilst awaiting the fourth book in the Wakefield Series (coming early 2019), the first three books in the Wakefield series have been republished by Orchard View Publications with brand new covers.

David Evans on Social Media

Author Website:
Amazon Author Page:
Facebook Author Page:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s