Torment by David Evans @DavidEwriter @CarolineBookBit @OrchardViewBook

Torment David Evans Book Cover

Book Description:

A message left in error on a young woman’s answerphone is the catalyst for uncovering some dark deeds.

Three young women are missing; luxury cars are being stolen; and just what did happen to two young schoolgirls, missing since the 1980’s?

DI Strong and journalist, Bob Souter are drawn into murky and dangerous worlds in this second book in the Wakefield Series.

The Wakefield Series:

#1 Trophies
#2 Torment
#3 Talisman
#4 Tainted – coming 2018

Blog Tour Poster bk 2 TORMENT.png

My Thoughts:

Torment is part two in the Wakefield Trinity series. I haven’t read Trophies which is the first one but will be doing so after reading Torment.

Torment actually works really well as a stand alone so don’t worry if like me you have’t read Trophies fist.

The Wakefield Trinity series follows DI Colin Strong and journalist Bob Souter.

I have to say I really love the combination of a detective and journalist working together to solve crimes. Both men respect each others position and even though it is quite risky for a detective to give information out to a journalist, Souter takes care to not let it get Strong into any trouble and uses any information given wisely. Also to be fair, Souter also helps Strong out with information.

The books are set in Yorkshire which I loved as a lot of the places mentioned in Wakefield and Leeds I could easily visualise with living in the area myself. It certainly made the whole story come alive in my head.

Souter isn’t your typical journalist. He maybe passionate about what he does as well as always on the look out for a new story, but he really cares. He comes across as being a very compassionate man who I know if real, I would certainly get on well with.

Strong is also very good at his job. To be fair at times I think he finds Souter a bit of a thorn in his side. Having someone in the know has Souter constantly ringing the detective in the hope of finding out new stories or leads and at times you can see Strong finds this frustrating.

Torment starts off with a disturbing message left on an answer phone which had me hooked straight from the start. It is packed full of criminal goings on that sees one investigation leading on to even more disturbing wrong doings. There is certainly no way you will ever get bored with this novel as it is jam packed full of gripping investigations that holds more than one or two surprises for the reader as well as Strong and Souter.

Torment is available to purchase from Amazon. (Please note that link used is an affiliate link).


David Evans is a Scots-born writer who found his true love as well as his inspiration for his detective series, in Wakefield. Having written all his life, in 2012 he decided to go for it – successfully as the next year, in 2013, he was shortlisted for the CWA Debut Dagger Award.

The Wakefield Series became an International Bestseller in June 2017 with success in Canada and Australia as well as the UK.

Early 2018 Disposal was published, the first book in the Tendring Series, a new detective series, set in north Essex in the 1970s.

Now, whilst awaiting the fourth book in the Wakefield Series (coming early 2019), the first three books in the Wakefield series have been republished by Orchard View Publications with brand new covers.

David Evans on Social Media

Author Website:
Amazon Author Page:
Facebook Author Page:

2 thoughts on “Torment by David Evans @DavidEwriter @CarolineBookBit @OrchardViewBook”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s