The Diary by Vikki Patis @bookouture @PatisVikki

515CyBhVEZL

Book Description:

‘I know all your secrets, Lauren.’

Lauren has spent years running away from her home town, her childhood and the memories of her best friend, Hannah.

Until the tenth anniversary of Hannah’s death forces her to return home and to the group of friends she abandoned there. It should be a quick visit, just so Lauren can pay her respects.

At home, Lauren finds Hannah’s old diary. A diary full of secrets. The terrible things Lauren did, the lies she’s told, the reason she ran away. And she receives a message:

‘I don’t know why you’re back, but I know why you left.’ 

But no-one else has seen the diary, and Hannah’s dead, isn’t she?

A suspenseful psychological thriller full of twists and turns – you won’t be able to stop turning the pages of The Diary. Perfect for fans of The Sister, The Girl on the Train and We Were Liars. 

The Diary - Blog Tour

My Thoughts:

The story flicks between now and then. In the present, Lauren makes the hard decision to return back to her family home for the ten year anniversary of Hannah’s death. The past we get to see more of Lauren and Hannah’s relationship as well as what life was like back when they were in their teens and the build up to Hannah’s untimely death.

This book is packed full of secrets and who doesn’t love a good secret? Hannah I kind of had mixed feelings about. In a way she is very much like a big sister to Lauren, always looking out for her, but in the same breath, at times it felt like a bit to much. It almost felt like rediscovering who someone really is. Hannah’s diary certainly opens a whole can of worms and even has Lauren questioning how well she truly knew her.

You can definitely feel the build up of tension as the story progresses. I really enjoyed reading of Lauren and her dads relationship and it felt like the bond between them was growing tighter which I loved. It was also interesting to see how Lauren’s relationship with her old school friends differed. All of them have their own secrets that they don’t want to get out and I couldn’t wait to find out just who was behind it all.

The Diary hooks you in from the start and kept me there until the very end. It makes you think about just how well you really know people. I thought the conclusion was very satisfying and well worth the build up of suspense. An enthralling page turner of a read.

My thanks to Bookouture and NetGalley for an advanced readers copy of this book. All opinions are my own and not biased in anyway.

The Diary is available to purchase from Amazon. (Please note that link used is an affiliate link).

18056213_10212585030317919_1956936559119292765_o

Author Bio:

Vikki Patis is an author and blogger, as well as an avid reader and book reviewer. When she isn’t working as a Regulatory Affairs Manager, she can usually be found drinking tea, baking cakes, or taking walks in the Hertfordshire countryside. She lives with her partner and two cats.

Social Media Links:

FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/vikkipatis/

TWITTER: https://twitter.com/PatisVikki

WEBSITE: https://vikkipatis.com/

2 thoughts on “The Diary by Vikki Patis @bookouture @PatisVikki”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s