Christmas At Black Cherry Retreat by Angela Britnell @rararesources @ChocLituk @AngelaBritnell

51XkmV4HwOL

Book Description:

A festive feel-good holiday read, perfect for fans of Kathryn Freeman, Lilly Bartlett, Tilly Tennant and Eve Devon.

What if you had nowhere to call home for Christmas? 
When Fee Winter books a winter break at the remote Black Cherry Retreat in the small town of Pine Ridge, Tennessee, it’s with the idea that the peace and quiet will help her recuperate from her hectic life as a photographer.

But what she didn’t bank on was meeting Tom Chambers and his huge, interfering yet lovable family. With them, could Fee finally experience the warmth and support that’s been missing from her own life – and maybe even find a place to call home in time for Christmas?

Christmas at Black Cherry Retreat Full Tour Banner

My Thoughts:

I have to give the author credit as the story is mainly set in Tennesse and when it’s a British writer, sometimes the authenticity of the setting doesn’t always feel right and it can feel like the author is trying to hard. With this novel though, for me, it felt right.

You have got to love secluded settings. The place where Fee decides to get away from it all for a while was so picturesque and not far from a small idyllic town. I enjoyed getting to know the area and the people better.

Right from the start you can sense a chemistry between Fee and Tom. As with all romance stories, nothing is straight forward and the pair come with a fair amount of baggage between them. Tom has a vast network of family, all of who I loved. They are the type of people who are welcoming and you feel right at home straight away.

I have to admit to start with, the story did feel at times like it was heading more towards the crime genre, which did throw me. Don’t get me wrong I love crime but I wasn’t expecting the story to take certain turns that it did. These parts were also slightly quite brief and I would have loved for the author to delve more into it but then it would probably have got in the way of the romance.

Christmas at Black Cherry Retreat is an easy and engaging read. I liked Fee and Tom though have to admit to maybe falling in love with Tom’s family that little bit more than them. The family side of things really adds to the heart warming feel that I would expect from this sort of genre and whilst not overly Christmassy, it’s still a good book to snuggle up under a blanket with and enjoy.

My thanks to Rachel at Rachel’s Random Resources for an advanced readers copy of this book. All opinions are my own and not biased in anyway.

Christmas at Black Cherry Retreat is available to purchase from Amazon. (Please note that link used is an affiliate link).

Angela RONA Award Pub Photo

Author Bio –

Angela grew up in Cornwall, England and returns frequently from her new home in Nashville, Tennessee. A lifelong love of reading turned into a passion for writing contemporary romance and her novels are usually set in the many places she’s visited or lived on her extensive travels. After more than three decades of marriage to her American husband she’s a huge fan of transatlantic romance and always makes sure her characters get their own happy-ever-after. Over the last twelve years she’s been multi-published and sold over 25 novels. She also writes short stories for women’s magazines. She is a member of the Romantic Novelists’ Association, the Romance Writers of America and the Music City Romance Writers.

 

Social Media Links –

www.facebook.com/angelabritnell

www.twitter.com/angelabritnell

www.angelabritnellromance.com

https://www.instagram.com/angelagolleybritnell/

 

1 thought on “Christmas At Black Cherry Retreat by Angela Britnell @rararesources @ChocLituk @AngelaBritnell”

  1. Thank you for being part of the blog tour and especially for the generous review. I’m thrilled you fell more than a little in love with Tom, Fee and Black Cherry Retreat! I don’t mind admitting I didn’t have the nerve to write about Tennessee until I’d lived here for many years – I was too afraid of getting it wrong!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s