If We’re Not Married By Thirty by Anna Bell @BonnierZaffre @AnnaBell_writes

41zvOJA663L

Book Description:

A brilliantly funny, romantic and effervescent read, If We’re Not Married by Thirty is the irresistible new novel from the bestselling author of The Bucket List to Mend a Broken Heart andIt Started With a Tweet. For fans of Lindsey Kelk and Sophie Kinsella. 

Lydia’s not exactly #LivingHerBestLife. She never imagined she’d be here at thirty – newly single, a job that’s going nowhere and her friends all winning at life when she’s still barely taking part. So she jumps at the chance of a free holiday and jets off to sunny Spain. 

Then, out of the blue, she bumps into her childhood friend, the handsome and charming Danny Whittaker. She’s always had a crush on him and they soon enter into a passionate holiday romance. 

But this relationship could be more than just a fling. Years ago they made a pact that if they were still single when they turned thirty they would get married. But noone really follows through on these pacts . . . right?

Could Lydia’s back-up man really be her happy ever after?

My Thoughts:

Lydia is a character I hit it off with straight away. If she was real, I could see us easily being good friends. With all her friends and family seemingly settled or in the throes of settling down, it leaves Lydia feeling anxious about the lack of direction her life is taking.

The relationship between Danny and Lydia is one that has always been a friendship one. With their mums being best friends, obviously both of them have spent many a time at each others houses and have always been around in each others lives. I loved how both characters had grown up together and felt so at ease around each other.

The author takes us on a fun and entertaining journey with plenty of cringe worthy moments. I loved Lydia and Danny’s mothers as things are far from boring with these two around. I was ever so slightly grateful though that they weren’t my mothers. They mean well though and their hearts are in the right places.

If We’re Not Married By Thirty is one of those books that you won’t want to put down from the moment you pick it up. It made me laugh, smile, chuckle as well as cringe with embarrassment for some of the characters. It really is a fun and feel good read that is guaranteed to bring a smile to your face.

My thanks to Bonnier Zaffre and NetGalley for an advanced readers copy of this book. All opinions are my own and not biased in anyway.

If We’re Not Married By Thirty is available to purchase from Amazon. (Please note that link used is an affiliate link).

2 thoughts on “If We’re Not Married By Thirty by Anna Bell @BonnierZaffre @AnnaBell_writes”

  1. I should have read this one and passed it on to my daughter. She and her best friend growing up made this same pact. When 30 came around, neither were married, but he was in a serious relationship. She is now as well, but we all teased them about getting married. Nice review, it sounds fun.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s