The Couple On Cedar Close by Anna-Lou Weatherley @bookouture @annaloulondon

Book Description:

One sunny August afternoon, the residents of Cedar Close throw their annual summer barbecue. Children play in the cherry-tree lined street, tables are laden with food, and the wine is flowing. For Laurie Mills, it’s her first time meeting the neighbours. And it’s the first time she discovers her husband Robert is having an affair.

Cedar Close has always been a nice place to live – a quiet suburban street where everyone looks out for one another and bad things don’t happen.

Until late one evening, when Robert Mills is found dead in his bedroom.

Downstairs, in their beautiful kitchen, his wife Laurie sits alone in the dark with her head in her hands. 

She can’t remember the last few hours, but she knows she didn’t kill Robert.

The trouble is, no-one believes her…

An utterly gripping page-turner about the dark secrets that lie behind closed doors. Perfect for fans of JP Delaney’s The Girl Before and Gone GirlThe Couple on Cedar Close will keep you reading late into the night.

My Thoughts:

I am sure what Laurie goes through in this book is everyone’s worst nightmare. To be accused of something you know you haven’t done. Couldn’t think of anything worse.

Detective Dan Riley and his team seem to have it all worked out. Dan though isn’t entirely convinced. I am a true believer of going with your gut instinct as it’s never proven me wrong so far and Dan can’t get rid of that niggling feeling. Even though the pressure is on from above to make a conviction.

The story alternates between present and past to a little girl who we don’t quite know who she is or how it all ties in with what is happening in present day. Things do become apparent quite early on though and the story has a cat and mouse feel to it which I really enjoyed.

The murders are pretty gruesome in this story which I absolutely loved but may not be for the more faint hearted of readers. It was good to see how even the police who get quite hardened to death are still affected. I also felt like I got to know Dan a bit better throughout this novel and he truly is one of the good guys in life.

The Couple On Cedar Close goes to show that people never know what truly goes on behind closed doors. I enjoyed the battle of intelligence between the police and the killer and the author keeps the reader on their toes as to who will win. A dark and gripping read with plenty of thrills and chills.

My thanks to Bookouture and NetGalley for an advanced readers copy of this book. All opinions are my own and not biased in anyway.

The Couple On Cedar Close is available to purchase from Amazon. (Please note that link used is an affiliate link).

Author Bio:

Anna-Lou began her career as a dancer but a moped accident in Ibiza put paid to those aspirations and so she went back to her first and one true love – writing! She re-trained as a journalist, specialising mainly in women’s interest and celebrity, becoming the Editor of J-17 and Smash Hits as well as writing for a host of women’s magazines.

Anna-Lou has written three Adult Fiction titles – Vengeful Wives and Wicked Wives, both published by Avon in the UK and Bookouture in the US and Canada and Pleasure Island published by Bookouture.

To find out more about Anna’s novels, go to https://www.facebook.com/annalouweatherleyauthor/ or follow https://twitter.com/annaloulondon on Twitter.

3 comments

  1. Fabulous review Sarah… I am reading this at the moment. I am enjoying it. There were a couple of okay reviews.. But I am finding it a fun read.. The graphic killing was fun… Or I am too twisted 😍😂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply to Sarah Hardy Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s