The Lock by Andrew Barrett @AndrewBarrettUK

Book Description:

I’m Eddie Collins, a CSI. This is the story of how I saw a dead man die.

I was finishing up at a sudden death in an old house, waiting for the body snatchers to arrive, when I heard a noise from the cellar.

I had time to kill, so I went to investigate.

Turns out I wasn’t the only one with killing on his mind.

If you like fast-paced crime thrillers with a forensic slant, raw emotions, and characters that reach out of the book and grab you by the throat, you’ll love Andrew Barrett’s CSI Eddie Collins series.

To find out what’s in that cellar, buy The Lock today.

Andrew Barrett is the best-selling author of the Eddie Collins Series. It will appeal to fans of authors like Ian Rankin, Robert Bryndza and Kathy Reichs.

My Thoughts:

Having read more than a few of this authors books, he still never fails to shock and surprise me and this little gem of a novella was no different.

Eddie is a love him or hate him type of guy. His mouth is like a sewer and if you are easily offended by swearing, then this may not be the book for you. For me though, this is who Eddie is. There are no airs and graces, what you see is what you get. There is a certain amount of humour in this book which comes directly from Eddie and it really makes for a highly entertaining read.

It’s hard to say to much with it only being a novella, which means you pretty much get into the thick of things as soon as the story gets going. I have to admit, even though I read the blurb, it still didn’t prepare myself for the horrors that were about to unfold. What I also love is that you can really see the authors own background shining through the story. I felt like I learned a bit more about this profession than I did before and certainly picked up some interesting facts.

The Lock is a highly engaging read that will chill the bones off the reader. Definitely makes you never want to go down into a basement on your own! Thankfully there is no basement/cellar in my house so I can rest easy. A dark and chilling read that will give you goosebumps.

The Lock is available to purchase from Amazon. (Please note that link used is an affiliate link).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s