The Year Of Starting Over by Karen King @bookouture @karen_king

Book Description:

Last year was meant to be when Holly got her happy-ever-after. But stuck in a job that’s going nowhere, and a relationship that feels more like it’s going backwards… this year Holly has decided it’s time to change her life. She just has to:

– End the relationship with the commitment-phobic boyfriend
– Go on a proper adventure
– Learn to be herself again
– Definitely, categorically 
not fall in love.

Cramming her belongings into her little yellow Mini, Holly drives on to a ferry bound to Spain, to stay at a remote farmhouse near a beautiful village in the Andalusian hills.

But the day she arrives she nearly crashes her car into a gorgeous guy on a motorbike. He’s called Matias and their paths keep crossing, much to Holly’s irritation. Because as she learns to speak Spanish from the locals, finally starts laying out plans for her own design business, and sips sangria in the sunlit village square, Holly is beginning to remember who she is and what she wants.

So she won’t allow herself be distracted by Matias. Because this year – for Holly – there are more important things in life than love. And she won’t let yet another bad relationship ruin everything… will she?

A moving and uplifting romantic comedy about living each moment and learning to trust yourself again, for fans of Jenny Hale, Debbie Macomber, and Sophie Kinsella.

My Thoughts:

I really can’t begin to tell you how much I adored this book. It is ideal escapism at it’s best.

Holly is very brave, daring to go to another country to live for a while to mend her broken heart and to start full filling a list she has created of things she wants to do. I’m sure it is something we have all fantasised about at times but have either never dared or had the finances to do it.

There is so much to fall in love with in this story. The fabulous Spanish setting, the gorgeous Matias as well as a cute little dog called Luna. It really has so much going for it. I also loved Holly’s dream of being self employed and pushing her design business. I was fit to burst with happiness as Holly starts ticking off her list.

The Year of Starting Over is an absolutely fabulous read that I couldn’t put down. It’s very much about friendship, family and most importantly, putting yourself first. Definitely going to be one of my top reads of 2019!

My thanks to Bookouture and NetGalley for an advanced readers copy of this book. All opinions are my own and not biased in anyway.

The Year of Starting Over is available to purchase from Amazon. (Please note that link used is an affiliate link).

About the author
Karen King is a multi-published author of children’s books, YA and romantic fiction. She has had 120 children’s books published, two young adult novels, six romantic novels and several short stories for women’s magazines.

‘The Cornish Hotel by the Sea’, published by Accent Press, became an international bestseller, reaching the top hundred in the Kindle charts in both the UK and Australia, and #2 and #3 in Holiday Reads respectively. Karen recently signed a two book contract with Bookouture, the first book ‘Snowy Nights at the Lonely Hearts Hotel’ was published in November 2018.

4 comments

Leave a Reply to Sarah Hardy Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s