Tainted by David Evans @DavidEwriter @CarolineBookBit

Book Description:

A botched attempt to extort money has tragic consequences.
An embarrassing DNA match to an unsolved rape and murder twenty years before means DI Colin Strong has to use his best diplomatic tactics.
Simultaneously, journalist Bob Souter is tasked with writing about that same case to re-focus public attention. Will the newspaper’s actions help or hinder the police?
Meanwhile, Strong’s team has two separate murder enquiries to run.
With their friendship under duress, will Souter and Strong be able to work together?

My Thoughts:

Tainted is the fourth book in the Wakefield Series. Whilst it isn’t essential to have read the others in the series, I would recommend it to get the most out of this book with there being references to previous events.

There is quite a lot going on in this novel with two murder cases on the go. I didn’t envy Strong and his team, or Souter for that matter having to stir things up from the past to increase awareness for a cold case.

The police and press usually don’t have a great relationship so I have to admit to enjoying seeing the great relationship that Strong and Souter have even though it can get strained at times, it really does make for some compelling reading.

Even though there are two cases on the go, the author ensures that the reader doesn’t get lost and finds the story easy to keep up with. Cold cases always fascinate me so it was great to see how the team work together in solving it.

Tainted is a compelling read that kept me on my toes. Strong and Souter are both likeable characters and it’s great to see things from not just the police side of things but from a reporters perspective also. Set in Wakefield and Leeds, with knowing the areas very well, it was so easy to visualise plenty of where the story is set. A good and solid crime read.

My thanks to Caroline Vincent at Bits About Books for an advanced readers copy of this book. All opinions are my own and not biased in anyway.

Tainted is available to purchase from Amazon. (Please note that link used is an affiliate link).

David Evans is a Scots-born writer who found his true love as well as his inspiration for his detective series, in Wakefield. Having written all his life, in 2012 he decided to go for it – successfully as the next year, in 2013, he was shortlisted for the CWA Debut Dagger Award.

The Wakefield Series became an International Bestseller in June 2017 with success in Canada and Australia as well as the UK.

Early 2018 Disposal was published, the first book in the Tendring Series, a new detective series, set in north Essex in the 1970s.

Now, the first three books in the Wakefield series have been republished by Orchard View Publications with brand new covers – Orchard View Publications also publishes the fourth book in the series, TAINTED.

David Evans on Social Media

Author Website: http://www.davidevanswriter.co.uk/
Amazon Author Page: author.to/DavidEvans
Facebook Author Page: https://www.facebook.com/davidevanswriter/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/DavidEwriter

Books by David Evans

The Wakefield Series
#1 TORMENT Getbook.at/Torment
#2 TROPHIES Getbook.at/Trophies
#3 TALISMAN Getbook.at/Talisman
#4 TAINTED Getbook.at/Tainted-DavidEvans

The Tendring Series
#1 DISPOSAL Getbook.at/Disposal

6 thoughts on “Tainted by David Evans @DavidEwriter @CarolineBookBit”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s