Sewing The Shadows Together by Alison Baillie @alisonbailliex @Bloodhoundbook

Book Description:

Do we ever really know the people closest to us?

More than thirty years after thirteen-year-old Shona McIver was raped and murdered in Portobello, the seaside suburb of Edinburgh, the crime still casts a shadow over the lives of her brother Tom and her best friend Sarah. 

When modern DNA evidence reveals that the wrong man was convicted of the crime, the case is reopened. So who did kill Shona?

Soon Sarah and Tom find themselves caught up in the search for Shona’s murderer, and everyone is a suspect.

The foundations of Sarah’s perfect family life begin to crumble as she realises that nothing is as it appears.

Dark secrets from the past are about to emerge, but can they uncover the truth before the killer strikes again?

Alison Baillie is the author of the acclaimed psychological mystery thriller, A Fractured Winter.  Sewing The Shadows Together is a suspenseful thriller which will appeal to fans of authors like Theresa Driscoll, LJ Ross and Jane Holland.

My Thoughts:


This is another novel that came highly recommended to me so couldn’t not go buy myself a copy to see what all the fuss is about.

A school reunion as well as a reopened case brings Tom back to Edinburgh where his family had moved far away from after Shona his sister was murdered. Coming back into the area brings everything back for Tom and he is desperate to get some answers.

The only people I actually liked at the reunion was Tom and Sarah, who was Shona’s best friend at school. Compared to the rest of them, they were pretty normal and didn’t really have any hang ups.

Tom and Sarah coming together brings back fond memories of Shona and they are determined to try and find out who did kill her and both go in search of the truth.

There are so many unlikeable characters in this novel, I could count on one hand the ones I actually liked and had empathy for. I think this made me grasp at straws at who I thought the killer was. I have to admit I thought I was so clever thinking I knew who it was only to be proven wrong when all is revealed.

Sewing the Shadows Together is just that. It is a tale that once woven all becomes suddenly clear. It is very much one of secrets and lies and is steeped in suspense.

A highly enjoyable read that draws you in and doesn’t let you go until the very end.

Alison Baillie was born in Scarborough of Scottish parents and lived in County Durham, Somerset and the Yorkshire Dales before going to university in Scotland. She then taught English in several Edinburgh secondary schools before moving to Switzerland where she still lives now. She’s taught English as a Foreign Language in Finland and Switzerland.

When she stopped teaching full-time, she fulfilled a life-time ambition and wrote Sewing the Shadows Together, a psychological suspense novel inspired in part by events when she was teaching in Scotland. She is fascinated by the way we are influenced by the events of our past and has now written a second novel, A Fractured Winter, set in Switzerland, Scotland and Yorkshire. 

She has two sons and three grandchildren and is proud of their international roots, having a mixture of Scottish, Swiss, Polish and Finnish heritage. As well as spending time with them, she loves travelling, walking in the mountains and by the sea, reading and writing.

Sewing The Shadows Together is available to purchase from Amazon. (Please note that link used is an affiliate link).

Alison Baillie was born in Scarborough of Scottish parents and lived in County Durham, Somerset and the Yorkshire Dales before going to university in Scotland. She then taught English in several Edinburgh secondary schools before moving to Switzerland where she still lives now. She’s taught English as a Foreign Language in Finland and Switzerland.

When she stopped teaching full-time, she fulfilled a life-time ambition and wrote Sewing the Shadows Together, a psychological suspense novel inspired in part by events when she was teaching in Scotland. She is fascinated by the way we are influenced by the events of our past and has now written a second novel, A Fractured Winter, set in Switzerland, Scotland and Yorkshire. 

She has two sons and three grandchildren and is proud of their international roots, having a mixture of Scottish, Swiss, Polish and Finnish heritage. As well as spending time with them, she loves travelling, walking in the mountains and by the sea, reading and writing.

Social Media Links:

Website:  https://alisonbaillie.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/alisonbaillieauthor & https://www.facebook.com/alison.taylor.796774Twitter: https://twitter.com/alisonbailliex

5 thoughts on “Sewing The Shadows Together by Alison Baillie @alisonbailliex @Bloodhoundbook”

  1. I liked the title, it couldn’t have come across as more intriguing. Lovely review Sarah… Unlikable characters.. Most books seem to have them
    When you write your book, have 1 likable character and make her the killer… 😂 *wicked laughter*

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s