Last Lullaby by Carol Wyer @bookouture @carolewyer

Book Description:

Charlotte’s baby is safe. But is she?

When the body of young mother Charlotte Brannon is discovered by her husband in their immaculate, silver bedroom, Detective Natalie Ward is first on the scene. The killer has left a chilling calling card: the word ‘Why?’ written on the wall in blood. 

Determined to find justice, Natalie quickly discovers the husband is hiding a troubled past, and she’s sure the teenage babysitter’s alibi doesn’t quite add up.

But before Natalie can dig deeper, another mother is murdered, her young son left distraught, staring at a fresh ‘who’ scrawled beside her.

Natalie knows it’s only a matter of time before the killer strikes again, but all the key suspects have alibis. It’s her toughest case yet, and with her marriage hanging by a thread, the cracks are beginning to show.

Just when Natalie finds an unsettling clue she thinks could solve the case, another young woman and her baby disappear, and a member of Natalie’s team is put in terrible danger. 

Can Natalie stop this twisted killer and save one of her own before more families are torn apart forever?

Gripping, fast-paced and nail-bitingly tense, this book will send shivers down your spine. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott and Karin Slaughter.

My Thoughts:

Having recently read the first book in the Detective Natalie Ward crime series, I couldn’t wait to dive in to the next book.

The story starts off with quite a harrowing incident when a young woman is killed in her own home. You always think of your home as a safe haven so having something like that happen when your child is in the house also, well it didn’t bear thinking about.

Whilst the story heavily focuses on the case, there are bits of Natalie’s home life appearing throughout. Her’s and her husband’s relationship isn’t one of the happiest I have ever come across. This is due to a couple of reasons. I definitely don’t think Natalie’s job helps with how time consuming it can be, especially when there is a murder case going on. I think it does give a very realistic take on life and how it can affect relationships when only one of a couple is in the police force.

The story takes lots of twists and turns where we are introduced to new witnesses and possible culprits. I constantly changed my mind as to who the murderer could be and had definitely not guessed correctly when all is revealed.

Last Lullaby is a story that promises good things from the cover and blurb alone. What was inside definitely didn’t disappoint either. From the shocking start, I was hooked until the very last page of which has now left me desperate to read the next in the series. A chilling and exciting crime thriller.

Last Lullaby is available to purchase from Amazon. (Please note that link used is an affiliate link).

6 comments

  1. Sarah, this is a superb review. I have been up since 6 am writing Book 5 in this series and just deleted much of what I’ve written because I simply wasn’t satisfied with it. I was feeling dispirited and then spotted your review and all is well again in my world. Thank you very much. I’m truly delighted you enjoyed Last Lullaby and hope you’ll enjoy The Dare even more 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s