The Woman Next Door by Sue Watson @bookouture @suewatsonwriter

Book Description:

I suppose everyone has their reasons for living here. Who knows what lies behind the pretty curtains and the well-groomed lawns of Mulberry Avenue?

Lucy has a kind and adoring husband, a job she loves as a teacher, and a house on Mulberry Avenue with floaty curtains and the softest bed linen. After her troubled childhood, she knows life will never be perfect, but it’s pretty close.

She’s also got Amber, right next door. They never run out of things to talk about. Even if Amber’s life – with her high-profile job and handsome, wealthy boyfriend – is more glamorous than Lucy’s, they share a down-to-earth sense of humour.

But then Amber starts to hint that her life isn’t all it seems, and when she comes to Lucy, terrified, saying that she’s getting threatening messages, Lucy promises to protect her.

The closer Lucy gets to anyone, the harder it’ll be to keep her past to herself. But Amber doesn’t have anyone else, and Lucy welcomes her into her home.

Lucy knows all too well that people aren’t always what they seem. Sometimes they have secrets. And they’d do anything to keep them. Yet when Amber settles in a little too quickly, Lucy’s still sure: she can trust her friend… can’t she?

Gripping and unputdownable, The Woman Next Door tells a story about the dark side of friendship, and has a final twist that will shock every reader. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the TrainFriend Request, and Clare Mackintosh.

My Thoughts:

Well what darkly woven story this turned out to be!

The author is probably better known for her wonderful women’s fiction novels but by heck is she making a serious mark in the world of psychological thrillers! This is her second offering in this genre and she has completely nailed it yet again. Is there no ends to this woman’s talents?

In the story we get to meet two very different women. Lucy is all fluffy and light who thinks baking and eating cakes solves everything. Well I have to say I’m with her on that one. Amber on the other hand very much knows what she wants in life. She has more of a harder edge to her but Lucy is just glad to have a new best friend and will bend over backwards to look after her and keep her safe and happy.

As the story goes along, it’s obvious that trouble is brewing. You get a real sense of trepidation, especially as there are some chapters from an unknown character to the reader and I couldn’t quite work out who it was. I really thought I knew some things within the story only to be totally wrong.

The Woman Next Door is a story that got more engrossing the further into it I got. The author has got messing with the readers head down to a fine art and I was blown away by the end. Definitely got the adrenaline going and one I will be urging everyone to read so I can talk about it. Loved it!

My thanks to Bookouture and NetGalley for an advanced readers copy of this book. All opinions are my own and not biased in anyway.

The Woman Next Door is available to purchase from Amazon(Please note that link used is an affiliate link).

About the author: 
Sue Watson was a TV Producer at the BBC until she wrote her first book and was hooked. 

A USA Today bestselling author, Sue has written fourteen novels, many involving cake and ice cream which have been translated into several languages and involved a great deal of ‘research.’ Sue’s now exploring the darker side of life with her second thriller ‘All Her Secrets,’ a dark, twisted tale questioning just how well we know our friends. This new genre doesn’t involve baked goods or frozen treats and Sue’s hoping the change in direction will be reflected on the weighing scales.

Originally from Manchester, Sue now lives with her husband and teenage daughter in Worcestershire where much of her day is spent procrastinating, eating and watching ‘My 600lb Life,’ on the sofa.

more info visit Sue’s website; http://www.suewatsonbooks.com/

Sue would love to meet you on FaceBook at https://www.facebook.com/suewatsonbooks

Follow Sue on Twitter @suewatsonwriter

3 comments

Leave a Reply to Sarah Hardy Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s