Savage Games by Peter Boland @PeterBoland19

Book Description:

A body hidden in a tree.A forest full of dark secrets. A man determined to find the truth…
“Wow. Just seriously wow!” Goodreads reviewer, five stars John Savage receives the shocking news that his friend has been found dead in bizarre circumstances. His body hidden in the branches of a towering fir tree in the New Forest. Savage vows to find out who is responsible.  Together with brilliant computer hacker Tannaz, he discovers his friend was down on his luck, living among those who society would rather forget – the dregs, the desperate and the homeless. Entering this dark and dangerous world, Savage soon discovers that the death of his friend was just the tip of the iceberg… Savage Games is a bestselling, fast-paced action thriller for fans of James Patterson, Lee Child and David Baldacci.

My Thoughts:

This is the first book I have read by this author and certainly won’t be my last. Even though it’s the second book in the John Savage series, having not read the first, I can certainly vouch for it being able to be read as a stand alone.

I loved how the story starts off. With a body being found high up in a tree. It always amazes me having read so many crime books that an author can still take me completely by surprise and come up with new ways of how people die. From that point on I knew I was in for a thrilling journey and boy did the author not disappoint.

What really makes this book for me is the characters. Being a crime book there are villains a plenty with lots of people to really dislike and hate. There are also some fabulously unexpected characters that just stood out for so many reasons. I was surprised at how much I started caring for them and in a way I wanted to mother some of them. These are people who are way down on their luck and have been taken advantage of and the fact that Savage comes along like some sort of vigilante trying to help them, made me love him that little bit more also.

Savage and Tannaz really are an unlikely duo but yet they compliment each other and make for a great pairing. I definitely want to read the first book now so I can see how the pair came about, it really is a match made in heaven for crime readers.

Savage Games is a thrilling and action packed read that had me hooked from the start. I loved being taken on a very dark and menacing journey with shocks and surprises getting closer with every page turned. Dark, thrilling with plenty to chill the bones off it’s reader, what is not to love? Every crime readers dream novel. Brilliant.

Savage Games is available to purchase from Amazon. (Please note that link used is an affiliate link).

After studying to be an architect, Pete realised he wasn’t very good at it. He liked designing buildings he just couldn’t make them stand up, which is a bit of a handicap in an industry that likes to keep things upright. So he switched to advertising, writing ads for everything from cruise lines to zombie video games.

After becoming disillusioned with working in ad agencies, he switched to writing novels (or was it because he wanted to work at home in his pyjamas?). He soon realised there’s no magic formula. You just have to put one word in front of the other (and keep doing that for about a year). It also helps if you can resist the lure of surfing, playing Nintendo Switch with his son, watching America’s Next Top Model with his daughter and drinking beer in a garden chair.

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/PeterBolandWriter/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/PeterBoland19

Goodreads Author Page:https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7102414.Peter_Boland

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s